1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audi a4 1.8t 2000 remap

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jaymodunn, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi new here so hi, have been a member of other car sites for 6 years.

    just brought a 2000 green 1.8t 150bhp audi a 4, and as per past cars want to remap it. in the past have paid forum members to do it so anyone out there, looking around the 100 pound mark. thanks james
    #1
  2. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Its a chip out jobbie !!!
    #2
  3. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    any recommendations that could do it in Midlands area. cheers
    #3
  4. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    Depends on the engine/ecu bradders, my 2000 APU is a flash over K-line, done it many times, as has R-Tech.

    R-tech or midlands VW are the ones round here, but doubt their prices will match your expectations unfortunately...
    #4
  5. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    £100 for a remap, bloody hell. I assume it wasn't reputable suppliers but other "members" that did it that cheap.

    At around £250 many people can offer safe maps, good luck.
    #5
  6. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    had a 306 hdi,75 for file did it myself

    406 hdi 180 remap was free diy

    can't see why it is any different. i can pay 200 pounds thou will have a look. but the car cost 600 pounds so can't justify half again for a minor increase.
    #6
  7. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    Had it been a Derv, i could have offered a safe map.... as I can get them from a reputable place and flash them myself. That would be under £100... 1.8t, wouldn't trust it...
    #7
  8. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    mine is a 2000 green Audi A4 1.8T Sport so twins...

    is yours remapped?
    #8
  9. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    of course, R-Tech Custom :racer:

    More to come this year :arco:
    #9
  10. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    There used to be a place called more BHP on Ebay, that did postal remaps for around a ton iirc
    #10
  11. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    how do i find out if my car ecu is flashable?
    #11
  12. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    Try it... Afaik that's the only way to know for sure. Where are you located?
    #12
  13. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    If it has no throttle cable , it's flashable
    #13
  14. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    DOH!!! forgot about that....
    #14
  15. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, anybody care to advise, I can't see a cable.

    PICT0906.jpg PICT0908.jpg
    #15
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    yeh its electronic throttle.
    #16
  17. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    Should be flashable as opposed to a chip out job :o.k:

    opens up more choice
    #17
  18. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    got a price for a file 60 poundsso will give it a go at the weekend with my galleto.
    #18
  19. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Do yourself a favour and stick the file up on nefmoto for people to look over.

    They'll soon tell you if its a decent job or a POS.

    There are many cowboys out there and you dont want to damage your motor!
    #19
  20. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    cheers will do it looks a good site. do you know how i can tell what engine code i have...aum,aeb etc...

    cheers

    edit looks like.. atw engine
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013
    #20
  21. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Easiest way to tell would be to look on the V5 for the engine number.
    #21
  22. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    [​IMG]
    #22
  23. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    o.k decided to get a pro to do it.

    had a look so far.

    190bhp bvr- 250 pounds
    210 bsr -355

    what is a realistic remap bhp for stage 1
    #23
  24. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    The turbo is flat out at 200 bhp. So prob not worth the extra few a few horses imho
    #24
    Arrkon likes this.
  25. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    bvr it is then..
    #25
  26. nemo2182
    Offline

    nemo2182 Lord wont u buy me a V10 R8!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make the journey over to Jabba sport in Peterborough, they did my old cable throttle 1.8t to 210bhp with pipercross panel filter and jetex back box. Your's will be fly-by-wire, so expect a little more. Big boys go to MRC, but I don't believe he does 1.8t's could be wrong....
    #26
  27. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    avoid MRC for 1.8t's they always seem to mess them up despite what they say.

    Bill, Niki or Rick are your best bets imho
    #27
  28. AB5QTS
    Offline

    AB5QTS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had my 1.8 TQS customed at MRC a few years ago now and have had no problems with the car at all.
    #28

Share This Page