1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A3 Quattro - New sump where form?anyone bought one of these..........

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ayreaudi, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. ayreaudi
    Offline

    ayreaudi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    Hi, New to the Forum (a forum foreigner if you would)

    I need a new sump as the "professionals" at audi have tightened the plug up too much and chewed the sump up, this was done at the last service before i bought the car. The sump is now leaking oil and doesnt tighten, ive at a price from a garage for a new sump fitted £110.00. I thought about heli-coiling it but would rather try and find a cheaper sump than the £80 the garage said it would cost.

    So...........looking around (fleebay mainly) i found this.....and as title says????

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUDI-A3-TT-OI...arts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item2a014555ed


    Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    If you have the level sender then this is the one you need. Do not forget a tube of sealer, job jobbed
    #2
  4. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    If not, I have one kicking about somewhere.
    #3
  5. jonny87
    Offline

    jonny87 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    cant you just go back to the garage and say "oi, wat the f***? new sump, now!" well you may wanna be more polite than that but you get the idea :)
    #4
  6. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    surely they wouldnt do this? most people realise they dont need to be very tight? dont they?
    #5
  7. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,559
    Likes Received:
    793
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    thats why vag put 19mm a/f drain plugs.... not! to big arse spanners can be used to easily over tighten them..
    great design feature from vag.. another one!

    nice
    #6
  8. ayreaudi
    Offline

    ayreaudi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    Thanks for the replies.

    Yeh i could but it was a good 2 hour drive and dont wanna risk the plug coming out and messing my engine up, its not worth that sorta hastle.:no:

    You wudda thought that they would know not to tighten them too much, it musta bin the last garage as it had a change before i bought it. And if it was like it before it went in then surely they would have advised the previous person ( a trader) to change it.

    I think il get on and order it.

    Cheers Welly il bear that in mind. :icon_thumright:
    #7
  9. Y83OLK
    Offline

    Y83OLK Hulk Smash!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    Mine was the same.
    Just helicoil it... In my opinion a helicoil is better than a new sump, its certainly stronger.
    #8
  10. Andrew@A.L.D
    Online

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    374
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    #9

Share This Page