1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi a3 O2 sensor & oil change HELP!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ticketyboo90, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. ticketyboo90

    ticketyboo90 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I own a a3 1.6 (poor engine, I know) 8v 52 plate with 76k on the clock! I have a engine management light on! I took it to the garage and the diagnostics said one fault only which was the O2 sensor ONE. He reset the computer than 2 days later the same thing! Which O2 sensor is that pre cat or past cat? I am also hoping to do a full oil change next week, as the previous owner didn't look after it and hasn't had it serviced in years. (I have also done air/pollen filters etc) I will be changing the filter, and cleaning and scrubbing the sump also. I have vw audi sealent for the sump as I am aware they prefer to use sealent and not the gasket itself? Is there anything Else I should be taking a look at/cleaning while the sump is off? Many thanks!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. epox

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    50
    have a look in the stickies ..there is one for sump removal for the s3.
     
    #2 epox, Oct 30, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2013
  4. phil miller

    phil miller Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    110
    Bank one sensor one is pre cat sensor, bank one sensor two is after cat sensor
     
  5. mattyboy199

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    15
    soak the sensor in vinegar for a few days, it cleaned my number 2 sensor up a treat & has been fully functional ever since
     
  6. ticketyboo90

    ticketyboo90 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys! I'd probley just replace it while I'm under the car! Don't know which pre cat sensor I need, there are Bosch ones on ebay but some are with cables that are 440mm and overs are 1200mm etc!
     

Share This Page