1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A3 97 Cluster Upgrade from non fis to fis helpp!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dada, Jun 24, 2012.

  1. dada
    Offline

    dada New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I would like to upgrade from normal cluster no. 8l0 919 960 B to a full fis from a 1998 no. 8L0919880 is it possbile what do I need exept from cluster.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Danio
    Offline

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    16
    Wiper stalk with reset button,
    Wires,
    Some pins,
    new 20 pins red socket,
    Vag tach to read immo pin in case if you don't have one from new cluster,
    VCDS for coding keys
    Around 2-3 spare hours
    Couple of beers:)lol
    #2
  3. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    181
    you have the best man for the job allready on it.

    Sorted mine a treat, just got upgrade me washer bottle now, Danio is a top bloke, if you live in NW area then get over to him
    #3
  4. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Going to bump this, I know Danio is on hols right now, so hopefully this will remind him i need HELP still !

    I have successfully fitted some clocks with full display, and the stalks, only to find there is no wiring for the extra 4 wires on the stalk in the cars loom. Im hoping Danio can fix this when he is back! So far have washer jet, lights, and brake lights warning beeps. Also have a plug with the 6 wires, but no plugs spare to fit the dash.
    #4
  5. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    181
    Dont worry bud, Danio will have everything you need for this as he sorted mine out with no problems, he usually has a box full of wires and bits and bobs, he is back tomorrow i think he told me, pm him just in case
    #5
  6. Danio
    Offline

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'm backing today evening lads so Avaiable soon.:)

    @udi A3 that beeps that is common problem when fitting DIS clocks. Don't worry Will sort it out once I back.

    Please just remind me on PM what kind of clock you have pre lift or facelift???
    #6
  7. Danio
    Offline

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hope you like it Tom

    Any questions just ask:icon_thumright:
    #7
  8. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Was defo worth the long drive to get done :D

    Only thing I dont like is the miles to empty isnt really any good untill about 150 miles left, then its nearly accurate. Is there any reason it would read far too high and go up instead of down? Right now I have done 200 miles from full and it says 550 to go, but infact there is about 300-350 to go.
    #8
  9. Danio
    Offline

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    16
    It must be accurate but will change once you accelerating or going on low idle. Different would be on motorway and a different on city roads.

    This is normal. I would go by the board computer when driving miles to empty.
    #9
  10. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    181
    This also works on a average to how hard or slow you drive, i wouldn't trust it 100%, i have had it where it said 60miles to go, booted it from a set of lights and it went to 0 straight away, also had this in other cars.

    Learn your fuel tank and your average mpg is best bet !!
    #10
  11. Danio
    Offline

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    16
    It is obvious when you booting but once you change your driving style then it will go up again. This is haw computer calculating this.
    #11
  12. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Just a follow up, ive covered around 1500 miles now and the MTE is just seriously poor.

    When full it says 580-620 miles, sometimes as high as 700. My tank seems to be good for 475-525 milea. At about 100 miles from empty the MTE readout says about 120-180 and thats the most accurate it ever reads. I drive steady pretty much all the time, the trip computer is accurate, the mpg varies from 47-5mpg when i reset it and keep driving, although hits 17 if i boot it.

    So i have a feeling something somewhere is not right, and its inconsistant. Yet the fuel guage and trip computer are pretty reliable.


    any ideas?
    #12
  13. baguln
    Offline

    baguln New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi iv got a a3 8l with 999999 on the milage, just bought a new cluster from ebay (white clocks!!!) with FIS.
    will source stalks etc and have ross tech and vag tacho.
    would realy appreciate a easy step to step guide with any pics diagrams would be great and list of parts needed.
    as im in north herts SGP area i think im a bit far from Danio.

    neil
    neilbagulay@live.co.uk
    #13
  14. supermanboy
    Offline

    supermanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys hi.I am Greek geek interested in doing the same project and i have already came in contact with Danio but the poor guy seems to be very busy and i hate bothering him all the time so is there any detailed guide with photos in order to start this project?I have already found a new tacho in a great price from a friend of mine,bought the wiper stalk and have already all the schematic with the pin assignments but still need to knowa few things about the SKC of my already installed tacho according the immo!I am mostly concerned about the adaptation of my new tacho with the engine and immo!Please any help would be grateful!I wish i was close to Danio!I would camp outside his yard!!!hahahaha

    My email in case someone can really send a guide is ivasileiad@ote.gr or johnny_vasiliadis@hotmail.com

    Thank you guys.
    #14
  15. supermanboy
    Offline

    supermanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some help please!A short guide maybe...Danio where are you mate?Please help!
    #15
  16. supermanboy
    Offline

    supermanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any news guys?Does anyone know what happened to Danio?Danio mate i am still in the dark in spite of the fact that i have all the necessary tools!
    #16
  17. ruffrida
    Online

    ruffrida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    181
    Prob best to PM Danio as i know he is really busy at the moment fella
    #17
  18. supermanboy
    Offline

    supermanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys hi again.It seems Danio is so busy that he can't be of any help.I've managed to adapt the new tacho and everything works fine!I have one issue with the door open symbol!I've managed to seperate all doors except passenger's door!Danio this olne is for you mate!I need to know if there is any modification to be made in order to see the door open function correctly.

    To be more specific right now i've managed to make the back doors and driver's side to look fine but when i try to open up the passenger's side it stays on without leaving after the door is closed!I've changed some wiring under the 382 relay(light comfort system relay) and now at least i have 3-doors working fine.

    Please any help would be appreciated.
    #18
  19. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Try slamming the door, i have a dodgy catch like this on mine on driver side
    #19

Share This Page