1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A3 8P 2009 RNSE Navigation stereo faulty display, Its upside down ? :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by bowdizle, Jun 12, 2014.

  1. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Audi A3 8P 2009 RNSE Navigation stereo faulty display, Its upside down ? :(
    I Put my car in the garage for some paint work, the battery went dead and was pretty **** and when they started the car back up the display on the screen was upside down.
    I have replaced the battery with a new one and its the same still? I noticed the screen was not central sometimes but nothing major and once the screen used to go black but fixed that, it was the ribbon black on one end and I trimmed it back and it was perfect again. Any suggestions please.
    IMG_3222.jpg IMG_3222.jpg IMG_3222.jpg
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. nluk100

    nluk100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    97
    Try a reset? Press and hold the radio and setup buttons for 10 seconds.
     
  4. fangio

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    136
    From the manual:-

    Press the ON/OFF knob to switch the Navigation System
    off.
    – Press and hold the ON/OFF knob until the display reappears and turns black.
    – Release the ON/OFF knob as soon as the display has
    turned black. After a few seconds, the Navigation System
    begins its restart, or you can switch it on manually
     
  5. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks guys, nothing on those tips.
     
  6. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    No joy with that :(
     
  7. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks but nothing :(
     
  8. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    369
    Have you tried pulling the fuse for the nav and leaving it overnight?
     
  9. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this fuse in the back of the Nav? Ive tried only the 2 suggestions above so far.
     
  10. Sidhu88

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    76
    "Get it into engineering mode n see if theres any 1) Turn on RNS-E.

    2) Press the NAV button and release.

    3) Press the top-left cursor button for 5 seconds and release.

    4) Press the top-right cursor button for 5 seconds. Hold until the screen changes."
     
  11. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    369
    The fuse on the drivers side of the dash.
     
  12. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, just tried that and went through all the options in engineering mode but nothing :(
     
  13. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    The cars had no battery on it for a long time, that would just be the same would it not? Thanks
     
  14. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
  15. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Audi A3 8P 2009 RNSE Navigation stereo faulty display, Its upside down ?
    I Put my car in the garage for some paint work, the battery went dead and was pretty **** and when they started the car back up the display on the screen was upside down.
    I have replaced the battery with a new one and its the same still? I noticed the screen was not central sometimes but nothing major and once the screen used to go black but fixed that, it was the ribbon black on one end and I trimmed it back and it was perfect again. Any suggestions please.
     
  16. pluves1

    pluves1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    118
    I noticed the screen was not central sometimes but nothing major and once the screen used to go black but fixed that, it was the ribbon black on one end and I trimmed it back and it was perfect again.

    From this I'm guessing you've had the unit open? My guess would be that the ribbon inside needs replacing as you may have damaged the original. You might find a new one on ebay.
     
  17. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was slightly off centre before I trimmed it and was very careful and it was simple to do and worked perfect after? I guess Im going to have to take it apart again, I was glad when it was done the 1st time around :(
     
  18. bowdizle

    bowdizle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for all tips and Thoughts. Fixed it, needs a New Ribbon but salvaged the old one and spot on ;)
     

Share This Page