1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A3 8L Speedometer and Fuel Gauge Fault. Video.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by RaptorHunter, Apr 21, 2013.

  1. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    Please watch the video:


    The fuel gauge is also faulty but it isn't noticeable in this video, but I get a constant beep reminder to refill the tank. Don't think it's a sensor fault, since I get the speed without any problems when using VAG-COM. Any suggestions to fix this? Replacing the Dash is currently out of budget.
    I am also considering an addon Speedo and fuel reader, any suggestions, for something that would fit discretely, somewhere in the dash.
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Lacee
    Offline

    Lacee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    I also had some like that with my Opel back in 2011. But this was wheel hub bearing issue.
    #2
  4. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    Can it also affect the Fuel Gauge? The speedo fail at 60+ Speeds.
    #3
  5. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    broken wire in the loom, will be between the speedo sensor in the box and under the battery, open the loom up and you will find it piece of p155

    very common on A3s and mk4 golfs, have done a couple this month all ready dude
    #4
  6. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    Please note that I am a noob so you have to give me a lot more help.
    Is it DIY friendly to fix the wire? Can you post some pics of where I find the wire and how to repair this?
    #5
  7. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    Since this is a common fault you should probably make a Thread of how to fix this and ask moderators to make it a sticky.
    #6
  8. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    Well wiring fault/breaks can happen anywhere in the loom, it's never always in the same place, ok, locate the speedo sensor on the gearbox it will be a 3 wire plug, remove the plastic cover and open the loom so you can trace the 3 wires all the way back to under the battery, most of the time the break is inbetween the last fixed point of the loom on the engine and the first fixed point on the chassis, I would use a continuity tester to check the wiring
    #7
  9. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Apr 21, 2013]
    You will find a broken wire, is it DIY friendly, I really don't know as in my eyes it's a walk in the park job others may not understand it, so on that count I can't answer that question

    sorry
    #8
  10. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Apr 22, 2013]
    I had a similar problem with my speedo / rev counter. In my case it was a dodgy earth, the coil pack loom earth which is bolted to the rocker cover between two of the end coil packs. My bolt disappeared and wire was loose.

    Liam
    #9
  11. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 22, 2013]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    What cables I need to pay attention to?
    #10
  12. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    A little update

    I noticed that I the speedo always fails near the same place when I am going to work, even if I don't get faster than 80kph. The speed will get back to normal, if I stop the car for 1 hour.
    #11
  13. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 27, 2013]
    BUMP!
    One last try before I give up. If you can help me please do so.
    #12
  14. TwinCamMan
    Offline

    TwinCamMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 28, 2013]
    They don't look like the wires from the speedo sensor. If you remove the air filter box you should be able so see everything you need to get access too. On the back of the box you need to find the speedo sensor (it should have a cloth protective cover over it and is held in with a single bolt). The connector unplugs at the sensor and has three wires, this then travels up and over towards the battery, you have to check this, a multimeter so you could check to continuity should make things easier (as Phil suggested)
    #13
  15. RaptorHunter
    Offline

    RaptorHunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2013]
    I did remove the air filter, search for every wire that went into the gearbox, those are the only cables that go there. Will see what I can do about the multimeter. My gearbox is the 4 speed auto.
    #14
  16. TwinCamMan
    Offline

    TwinCamMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 28, 2013]
    Not familiar with the four speed auto box, only the S3 box. If you check the manuals on line and see if you can find out where the speedo sensor for an auto box is located. I'd imagine it should be similar.
    #15

Share This Page