1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A3 3.2 v6 cut out

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by a33.2josh, Apr 19, 2014.

  1. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Hi guys I have a 3.2v6 A3 on a 54 plate with 115k on the clock owned the car for around 3-4 months, not had any issues with it up until today was running sweet as, basically driving to work I noticed a small light come on the dash a triangle with a arrow around it in yellow, this came on at 35mph then when I came to some lights to stop obvs put the clutch in and she just cut out, on turn of the key the lights still there and it fired straight up, this continued at every set of lights, then when I came to park up it just about managed to idle on its own and I turned it off via the key! Any help in direction would be awesome here guys, I'm based in York/Leeds if anyone has a vagcom and could help would be much appreciated! Just hope I can get home tonight! After leaving it for 5 mins at work it fired up and idled abit bouncy and light is still there... Confused.. Cheers again guys josh
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397936247.348564.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397936128.841166.jpg
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 21, 2014]

  3. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Try running it with your maf disconnected.
    #2
  4. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Sorry mate what's the MAF? Mass airflow? I did look at changing air filter on Wednesday but it had pipercross fitted so put it all back together and left it! Ran fine and fault appeared today as described.
    #3
  5. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Yeah that's what the maf is unplug it and try and run it if your filter is an oiled filter it can cause your maf more hassle also it could be your throttle body as it could be sticky with gunk.
    #4
  6. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Sound mate ill try that tonight, will the light need resetting somehow or will it clear itself?
    #5
  7. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Cant remember but I think it will need re setting
    #6
  8. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 19, 2014]
    Ok appreciate the help pal thanks
    #7
  9. screechmr2
    Offline

    screechmr2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Clean the throttle body. If it's dirty the car might idle poorly and when driven struggle to drop to issue without cutting out, if this happens pull over, turn the car off but the ignition on for about 15 mins, the throttle body will recalibrate and the car will run fine for another few hundred miles before repeating the fault unless you clean the throttle body, piece of cake to do. Throttle Body clean guide.... Easy method - Performance and Technical - R32OC | VW Golf R32, Golf R and other .:R Vehicle Owners Club.
    #8
  10. screechmr2
    Offline

    screechmr2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Mine did the same problem as yours and it was the throttle body despite being told by the aa and 2 garages it was the maf sensor. Cleaning the throttle body is a lot cheaper to do
    #9
  11. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Awesome mate appreciate all info, will have a look at it in morning. Thanks again, will report back to people for future ref, do I need a vag-com to reset the triangle light
    #10
  12. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397952017.457786.jpg

    So started up ok after work, first junction when I dumped the clutch the revs dropped to about 400rpm idle then picked up to 600rpm after a couple of seconds. Light on dash is still there, what does that light show usually?
    #11
  13. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397953315.250436.jpg
    Right so just got in, and she's idling fine again. Could this be temperature related this fault? Obviously 1in the morning is cooler than this evening at 8.15 ish, so thinking this could have some affect? Cheers people
    #12
  14. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    The maf uses temp change to calculate airflow
    #13
  15. Jason-3.2
    Offline

    Jason-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Sounds like same problem I had, if you can get it scanned I bet it shows an error code relating to low voltage detected at the Maf. It didn't seam to related to anything as it would happen completely random.
    I tried all of the above, I would be fine for a month or 2 then go again. I brought myself a simple obd2 scanner off the bay and found that as soon as it happened I'd clear the fault then 60secs later it came back, reset one more time then it was fine for a few months.
    In the end I cleaned up all the earth points as it seamed to be electrical, it hasn't happened again a year later, touch wood!
    I still carry the scanner with me just in case!!!

    The code will be something like p0102. Low signal or voltage.
    #14
  16. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Quick question then if its the MAF playing up how do I sort it? Cheap or pricey fix? Cheers
    #15
  17. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    just dt replace about a £110 from euro car parts.
    #16
  18. Jason-3.2
    Offline

    Jason-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Just make sure you buy a genuine one!
    #17
  19. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Just been out to her and the lights on the dash have gone idled up when cold then revs dropped off to normal, confused :/
    #18
  20. Jason-3.2
    Offline

    Jason-3.2 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    People with the same problem have reported that in the morning the fault had cleared its self, only to reappear at random sometime later.
    #19
  21. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    So safe to say its MAF then guys? Ill wait for it to re-occur and see if it runs better with the MAF disconnected
    #20
  22. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    If you don't have a means of scanning it the only thing you can do is wait and try the maf meantime I would clean the throttle body .
    #21
  23. a33.2josh
    Offline

    a33.2josh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    I have got a friend that works at a garage and they have a scanner said I can pop in so may do that
    #22

Share This Page