1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A3 2.0 TDi Sport - Advice on Glowplug Issue Required

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by meestaman123, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. meestaman123
    Offline

    meestaman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 4, 2013]
    Hi,

    I recently purchased a late 2004 2.0 TDi Sport (the BKD engine I believe) and although the car runs great I recently scanned it with VCDS and am seeing electrical errors on all 4 glowplugs:

    -------
    Address 01: Engine Labels: 03G-906-016-BKD.lbl
    Part No SW: 03G 906 016 FF HW: 028 101 190 5
    Component: R4 2,0L EDC 0000SG 6337
    Revision: 12345678 Serial number: AUX7Z0D7FNB096
    Coding: 0000072
    Shop #: WSC 06435 000 00000
    VCID: 6CDCC6EE70D1E17C


    4 Faults Found
    17055 - Cylinder 1 Glow Plug Circuit (Q10): Electrical Fault
    P0671 - 000 - -
    Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 0 /min
    Torque: 136.0 Nm
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Load: 0.0 %
    Voltage: 12.08 V
    Bin. Bits: 00000100
    Temperature: 9.0°C
    Bin. Bits: 00110000


    17056 - Cylinder 2 Glow Plug Circuit (Q11): Electrical Fault
    P0672 - 000 - -
    Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 0 /min
    Torque: 136.0 Nm
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Load: 0.0 %
    Voltage: 12.08 V
    Bin. Bits: 00000100
    Temperature: 9.0°C
    Bin. Bits: 00110000


    17057 - Cylinder 3 Glow Plug Circuit (Q12): Electrical Fault
    P0673 - 000 - -
    Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 0 /min
    Torque: 136.0 Nm
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Load: 0.0 %
    Voltage: 12.08 V
    Bin. Bits: 00000100
    Temperature: 9.0°C
    Bin. Bits: 00110000


    17058 - Cylinder 4 Glow Plug Circuit (Q13): Electrical Fault
    P0674 - 000 - -
    Freeze Frame:
    RPM: 0 /min
    Torque: 136.0 Nm
    Speed: 0.0 km/h
    Load: 0.0 %
    Voltage: 12.08 V
    Bin. Bits: 00000100
    Temperature: 9.0°C
    Bin. Bits: 00110000


    Readiness: 0 0 0 0 0


    As I'm new to Audi/VW (I've worked and owned mainly on Peugeot/Citroen cars), I just wanted to get some advice from more knowledgeable guys on the forum. I haven't checked yet but will open it up and have a look at the glowplugs but I assume as it's an electrical error on all 4 it may be the injector/glowplug loom ?

    Can't really notice any problems with starting or running but want to keep the car tip-top. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated as I'm really not up to date on VAG cars.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. smiler2012
    Offline

    smiler2012 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 4, 2013]
    to test the glow plugs use a test light connect it to the positive side on battery and put on tip of glow plug and see if test light lights up if no then glow plugs faulty if yes then check wireing
    #2
  4. meestaman123
    Offline

    meestaman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 4, 2013]
    Thanks for the pointers - I take it I can use a multimeter and earth it then just check voltage at each one ? Should it be 12 volt(ish) ? Just like to be very careful with the electronics/ECUs etc. on these cars.

    Thanks again mate.
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 4, 2013]
    Lets be honest 4 plugs all at same time is highly unlikely, there's a known issue with the looms, check this 1st, its highly uncommon to have all 4 plugs go at same time.
    #4
  6. meestaman123
    Offline

    meestaman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 4, 2013]
    I'll open things up and have a look - from reading a bit more I think you're correct,it's looking like a replacement loom is required. No noticeable effects from this yet but I don't want to wait until I start getting running issues.

    Thanks for taking time to reply
    #5
  7. Graham89
    Offline

    Graham89 Derv Perv

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2013]
    How hard is the loom to replace. Is it Audi only? And any idea on costs? I don't mind getting my hands dirty
    #6
  8. meestaman123
    Offline

    meestaman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2013]
    Hi Graham,

    From reading a bit into this it doesn't look like a hard job - it's basically the wiring that runs to the injectors and the glow plugs under the rocker cover of the engine. Cost seems to be between £80-100 so not terribly bad. I'm going to have to investigate and see if this is what's causing these errors to flag - obviously I'm thinking if it's heater plug errors now then later on it could be injector signal issues i.e. cutting out the engine of the car which is not something I want !

    I'll let you know how I get on. Thanks to everyone who posted.
    #7
  9. meestaman123
    Offline

    meestaman123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2013]
    So, stripped it all down and looks nice and tidy - nice new looking timing belt on there (car came with FSH). Got under rocker cover and connector was totally off glowplug number 3 (well 3rd from timing belt end) !

    Connected this back up but scan showing the same - loom doesn't look great and given the design I'm just replacing it as a matter of course. Mostly I like to only fix things that are broken but if I come across a part which looks rather 'weak' then I'd rather replace it knowing it's 100% then. Seems like the connectors are a bit loose then on these plugs - strange ! Anyway, new loom it is and then it may lead to some new glow plugs as well - with this design I'm guessing that loose connectors could arc and burn out the plugs ???

    p.s. anyone else ever had this - connectors popping off of the glowplugs ? Also, shouldn't this result in an engine MIL light on ? I've had no limp modes and no MIL light - the only way I even knew about these errors was scanning with VCDS (after buying the car it was driven 300 miles back home with no issues and has yet to have one problem) ?

    Hopefully get this sorted soon - new loom ordered and shouldn't be hard to put in.
    #8
  10. chrissybhoy
    Offline

    chrissybhoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 3, 2014]
    Iv had the same glow plug error for 3 years now, should get it looked at really lol hasn't caused me any issues so far
    #9

Share This Page