1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AUDI A3 1.9 tDI not starting

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by hancliff79, Aug 15, 2011.

1. hancliff79

hancliff79 New Member

[Aug 15, 2011]
    Hi Everyone,

I hope someone can help as I'm starting to lose the love for my new Audi :sadlike: Sorry if my story is long winded but I want to make sure all info is there :sly:

I bought a 55 plate (Jan 2006 registered) Audi A3 1.9 tDI back in March, it ran fine for the first few months with no problems. I then went for an operation and couldn't drive for 8 weeks, during this time the car was started about 4 times.

I have been driving it again for the past 2 months and pretty much straight away I had problems starting it, it starts and then cuts out straight away if not revved and then can't be started again unless the accelerator is pumped vigorously for about 30 seconds or more. On occassion it starts and stays that way as long as it is revved up for about 30 seconds but seems to do the former (cutting out straight way or not starting at all) if parked on even a slight incline. The revvs just seem very low and definitely lower than when it started smoothly.

It was also losing power while driving and spluttering/giving off black smoke so I took it in to someone with the diagnostic machine (sorry I'm a girl so don't know the tech term!) They found a fault with the gas valve which is why it was losing power and billowing out black smoke on occassion so they blocked it up to check if the engine management light came on which it did. So they replaced this and the heater plugs which apparently were black and the gas valve full of gunk! It has run fine since then but the starting problem seems to still be there and in honesty seems worse. They have plugged into the diagnostics