1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audi a3 1.8tfsi 2012 cant be remapped via ecu with a bluefin

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by DAZZA1, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. DAZZA1
    Offline

    DAZZA1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    went to get my march 2012 1.8tfsi remapped by superchips , but unfortuately my cars ecu can not be read due to audi ecu security! so cant get a bluefin or i can either have my ecu taken out with a permanent map or bsr said they can do a handheld unit! any thoughts people?
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
    #1
  2. shady-ninja
    Offline

    shady-ninja Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    39
    thats rubbish.
    i have the same car with the same engine
    remapped by APR SPORT in milton keynes.
    the ECU needs to come out and connected
    to a laptop for software to be loaded.
    my car? 1.8 tfsi MY09
    #2
  3. DAZZA1
    Offline

    DAZZA1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi , think you mis understood , i can have it taken out and remapped by superchips directly to the ecu , but i cant have a bluefin re map it , although bsr claim they do a handset .. hope that makes more sense lol
    #3
  4. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    700
    A3's with Bosch MED9.1 ECUs can be remapped via OBD port

    A3's with Bosch MED17 ECUs have TriCore TC-series processors, and cannot be flashed via the OBD port. The ECUs have to be removed from the security cages (security bolts broken, new ones required), covers carefully opened (they are sealed via a strong adhesive) and then bench flashed.

    The change came about roughly from some 2011 cars.....

    The more mainstream tuners have the facilities to do this.


    *MED/EDC
    #4
  5. mjr901
    Online

    mjr901 S3 Pollution Plus+ Edition

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,812
    Likes Received:
    511
    January 2012 S3 here....remapped via OBD....Shark.
    #5
  6. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    700
    S3 2.0 TFSI remained with MED9.1 so can be remapped via OBD port.
    #6
  7. _G_
    Offline

    _G_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    34
    I don't see what the issue is here. If it has security on it then you can get down to a reputable tuner... like superchips or APR and they will unlock it so they can re-flash it. It's a few pounds extra but that's it.
    #7
  8. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    124
    The latest 1.8 TFSI's use a Siemens ECU which cannot yet be remapped at all.

    Earlier use MED17 which needs removal.

    All 8P S3's use MED9.1 which can be done over OBD.

    Hope this clarifies.

    Rick
    #8

Share This Page