1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Audi A2 with Bose - No FM reception, help?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by pure, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 13, 2007]
    The Bose sterio (Audi Symphony) is my Audi A2 has suddenly decided to stop working. The CD works fine, but the FM radio reception is none existant. I just get static and sometimes a very very faint signal (no where near listenable).

    Is there an FM booster AMP anywhere in the car that could be broken?

    Does anyone have any tips on what to check?

    I can't get the head unit out of the dash either, any tips? (edit - I've just bought these off ebay:-
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Audi-Stereo-R...oryZ1498QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem)

    ANy comments / suggestions welcome.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 18, 2007]
    anyone?
    #2
  4. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 19, 2007]
    My headunit removal keys turned up today, so just been out and taken the headunit out. All cables secure in the back.

    AM reception still seems to work, no FM at all.

    I pulled fuse 2 (radio) out....to see if it was ok, when I put it back in, when I turn the Headunit on now, it says "SAFE" on the display, and nothing seems to work. I've given up for today. :-(

    (edit to say) Just read the manual, and re-entered the radio code, so it's working again. Tuned into AM 1215 for the time being. CD player working.

    I think it is the Ariel amplifier! Wonder where it is???
    #3
  5. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 19, 2007]
    Sounds like the amlifier is not working. Maybe a thought would be to pop down to halfords and buy an Aerial amplifier adapter. This just plugs into the back fo the HU and then your std aerial plugs into that. They are about £10, but it could solve your problem.
    I had the same thing when I changed my OEM HU to aftermarket and that's the route I had to go down. The amplifier has to be connected to a switched live though. All I did to mine was scotch lock it into the wire for the power aeial on the back of the HU. Its all very easy to do......must be cause i managed and I am a dunce when it comes to pointy headed electrical nonsense LOL
    If it doesn't work a tenner is not the end of the world
    #4
  6. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 20, 2007]
    Cheers Mac, I've just ordered one from caraudiodirect. Hould be here by the end of the week and I will give it a try, I'll report back when I get it fitted :)
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 20, 2007]
    In the meantime you can just disconnect the aerial and poke a wire coathanger or even a small screwdriver into the centre pin on the aerial connection on the back of the HU as a makeshift aerial to test that FM is actually working on the HU.

    When you fit the aerial amp, as already stted you need to connect the flying lead on it to a switched 12v, there are a couple on the back of the HU, do not connect it to the main 12v supply to the HU as this will remain on all the time and will drain the battery.
    #6
  8. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 27, 2007]
    How do I identify the switched 12v supplies? The part turned up so will be trying to fit it some point this week.
    #7
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 27, 2007]
    They're the ones shown as a little switch on the diagram on top of the HU.
    [​IMG]
    #8
  10. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 28, 2007]
    Cheers Andy, very helpfull :)
    #9
  11. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2007]
    Well, I have just fitted the mini AMP and it still doesn't work....

    However if I stick a phillips screw driver in the back, I get FM reception, loud and clear.

    Therefore I am assuming there is a breakage / loose ariel connection somewhere from the back of the HU to where ever the ariel is???

    Is the back windscreen the ariel? I've started taking the boot appart to find it but have not found anything yet. Had to stop because of the rain.

    Help?
    #10
  12. BennyB0Y
    Offline

    BennyB0Y The Black Phantom

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 5, 2007]
    I've got a similar problem to you as I'm trying to upgrade my head unit, (see this forum) from Symphony II to Symphony II+. Aerial behaviour is poor for AM and FM, but like you, stick a paperclip, screwdriver etc. in the socket connected to the headunit, I get a good reception. I'm sure there's a way to get this working, and am annoyed at Audi for making something like a car aerial so troublesome. I'm still looking for a solution. I'm finding it hard to refuse that this one problem will not allow me to use this newer headunit.
    #11
  13. spike
    Offline

    spike New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 5, 2007]
    #12
  14. BennyB0Y
    Offline

    BennyB0Y The Black Phantom

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 9, 2007]
    #13
  15. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 9, 2007]
    I think I have found what the problem "could" be. I had a look at those posts on a2oc and found the diversity antenna in the boot near the battery. It was full of water (submerged) so I guess it has blown.

    Replacement part is £90 from audi tho or £80 from vag-parts. I think I am going to buy a new part and see if that helps.

    I took all the trim off the boot etc and all connections were in place and seemed ok.
    #14

Share This Page