1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audi 4 tqs 2000 new owner problems to start

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jaymodunn, Mar 15, 2014.

  1. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    o.k bought a car today a 2000 audi a4 tqs it has a few issues but the main one which wasnt advertised is the fact it has no boost, takes about 12 seconds to get to 60 and is sluggish. no dash warning lights thou or smoke.

    now i understand it could be a lot of issues but is worth getting it ecu read first or where do i start, pissed me off a lot as the car wasn't advertised as having this fault, but that is ebay for you.

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    sounds like its in limp, so I'd be scanning first. A visual inspection may help, is there a rattle when you let off the throttle?

    If no codes, do you have a boost gauge fitted?
    #2
  4. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    #3
  5. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    any boost at all you can feel?
    #4
  6. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    If theres no boost sounds like its ditched the wastegate penny valve whip the cat off from the turbo see if it sat in the cat or turbo housing.

    Or if you can get hold of a borescope whip the lambda sensor out and have a look whats in there.

    And now would be a good time to install a boost gauge its your best friend in any turbo car as you can see what the turbo is doing !!
    #5
  7. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    I was heading there, but didn't want to scare him,LOL
    #6
    warren_S5 likes this.
  8. Tom_B
    Offline

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    Is anyone else irritated by that bull**** that makes a regular appearance in less than fully forthright eBay ads 'selling because of company car'
    #7
  9. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    On the bright side, you got a bargain there even if you need to source a second hand turbo. Might have my standard turbo up for grabs soon as have my hybrid to fit.

    Was about to offer to scan the Ecu for you but unfortunately you're nowhere near Herts :-(
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2014
    #8
  10. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2014
    #9
  11. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    Not too scary mate. Are you competent to DIY as the cambelt whilst being a bit of a sod is doable on the drive. Are the brakes ****ed or does it just need a set of discs and pads?
    #10
  12. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    iirc I tapped into the vacuum line for the recirculation valve and ran that through the Ecu box into the cabin then just tapped into the illumination for the cig lighter. Mines mounted in an A pillar pod but many fit into one of the centre heater vents
    #11
  13. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    where did you buy the piping, also at this point i just want a cheap one, any recommendations?
    #12
  14. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    The piping I had laying about from another project. I usually grab whilst at shows as it's far cheaper and you get to feel the quality of it before parting with your money. Avoid TIM. gauges. I've got 3 at present a Mocal, a Stack and currently in the A4 is an Autoguage all 3 seem fine and give very closely matched readings.
    #13
  15. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    cheers just bought an autogauge one
    #14
  16. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    Pipe it in to the FPR pipe then run it off through the grommet in bulkhead next to brake servo pipe then down through the ECU box.
    #15
  17. Chriscooke
    Offline

    Chriscooke Clueless!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    I'm sure mine is down on power also although I've never looked in to it, saying that 180bhp isn't a lot tbh.
    #16
  18. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    i hav e a fwd 1.8t for comparison..
    #17
  19. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,176
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    it should feel pretty similar, the extra 30bhp just overcomes the extra weight and transmission losses.
    #18
  20. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    I had to add 200 more hp to overcome the quattros extra weight.😜
    #19
    slepy, Oranoco and crazy88 like this.
  21. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    can the tuning be done on a budget. once i sort the limp mode want to remap it.
    #20
  22. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,568
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    These cars dont have an "engine light" so it could potentially have all sorts of faults and wouldnt bring on any light on the dash. Scanning with VCDS is the only way to tell whats going on.

    Possibilities are wide and varied, and knowing if you were getting 5psi or 0psi would maybe narrow it down without looking at the fault codes.

    As for tuning, you can have them remapped, but the ECU is a bit rare/obscure and isnt flashable, so its a little awkward requiring removal and "chipping". Unforunately Audi didnt upgrade the turbo on the 180hp B5 models, meaning its the same turbo as the 150hp cars, which means after a remap your not going to see much more than about 195hp.

    My personal view is that you should decide where you want to be power wise before starting down the road of mods, because if you start buying bits at random you'll end up either holding yourself back or adding mods that wont gain you anything.
    #21
    Dimokslis and Oranoco like this.
  23. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    omce up to running order i will stick with a remap and exhaust and service parts first.
    #22
  24. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    say my turbo is knackered is there a turbo that can bolt right in and add bhp?
    #23
  25. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,568
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    The K03-073 from a B6 A4 190hp model is bolt in and will do about 230hpish.

    Or you can have a hybrid built to your spec for a bit more.
    #24
  26. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    where is the best place to buy?
    #25
  27. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    Beachbuggy if you just want a hybrid turbo then maybe buy a high flow manifold of ebay then you will need a intake pipe. Or just port your existing manifold.

    Or frankenturbo for a kit but all in all is best part of 1k after import duties and tax.

    If your happy with 230hp then just get the turbo from the 190hp B6 and get it mapped.
    #26
  28. Chriscooke
    Offline

    Chriscooke Clueless!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    Is the b6 tubby a straight swap? What remap do you need chip or custom? Is it on the standard ecu or aftermarket.
    #27
  29. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    Straight swap. Custom remap will be needed
    #28
  30. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    You could get a AGU ecu ending in 018 CJ or 018 R iirc de immo'd so its flashable !!
    #29
  31. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    o.k just had it read and these are the faults. should i cry?

    18010 - Power Supply Terminal 30
    P1602 - 35-10 - Voltage too Low - Intermittent
    00575 - Intake Manifold Pressure
    11-10 - Control Limit Not Reached - Intermittent
    01262 - Solenoid Valve for Boost Pressure Control (N75)
    26-10 - Output Open - Intermittent
    16500 - Engine Coolant Temp. Sensor (G62)
    P0116 - 35-10 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    #30
  32. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    looking at it i can replace the n75 valve, but does anyone know the part code and where to buy. cheers
    #31
  33. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    Did you clear them then go for a quick drive then scan again ??
    #32
  34. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    yes cleared and ran again car is still slow. checked faults but none but it was only about 500 metres

    is the turbo shagged it does seem to whine a bit..
    #33
  35. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    You really need to plumb a boost gauge in to see what its doing if your seeing around 4-5psi then its in limp mode (actuator pressure) anything below ie 0psi then you need to check the penny valve hasnt gone west.

    If its still there do a boost leak test and maybe replace the temp sensor.
    #34
  36. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    i have the boost gauge so will have a go in the week. i know without boost scan can be pointless it is all trial and error.
    #35
  37. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,568
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    The Battery code just means the battery has been low or disconnected at some point.

    N75 could be faulty, or it could be a bad connection, or its been unplugged. Did the N75 code come back after you reset the codes and had a drive.

    The intake manifold pressure code means your not making any boost. I had that same code when my wastegate penny fell off. It might also be due to a faulty or broken N75 though i guess.

    The Engine coolant sensor code probably means your thermostat is faulty. I presume the engine doesnt get up to 90c on the guage in normal driving?
    #36
  38. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    yes temp gauge is not moving

    are they easy to sort, what is this penny thing?
    #37
  39. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    Is the temp constantly at 60 ??
    #38
  40. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
  41. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    Sounds like temp sensor if its not moving at all.
    #40

Share This Page