1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Attempted to fit LED numberplate lights - Not gone well

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Minstadave, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hi guys,

    Could anyone help, tried to fit a set of LED numberplate bulbs, put them in, fired up the car, got a bulb error on the DIS. Switched them around, still getting an error, put the old bulbs back in and I'm still getting the same.

    Do I have to clear the error to get them working? Or should it sort itself out if everything is seated properly?

    Thanks for any help! :)
    #1
  2. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    I assume you fitted resistors?
    #2
  3. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    Went for the canbus designed bulbs here:

    eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

    But even with the old bulbs in it's giving me an error. I'm pretty sure they're seated properly.

    Is it the fact that the error needs clearing that's stopping the normal bulbs working, or should that right itself?
    #3
  4. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's buggered. ;)
    #4
  5. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    :p I'd managed to figure that out myself :Flush:
    #5
  6. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    sorry to hear that mate, hope you get it sorted
    #6
  7. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    #7
  8. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'll go have another fiddle.

    Does anyone know if one bulb will light up if the other is poorly seated or are they connected in series?
    #8
  9. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    They are not connected in series - for a 12 volt bulb that would mean they only get 6 volts each.

    However, it may be that the ecu switches off power to both of them if one goes but I doubt it.

    That other thread describes the same problem and the fix.
    #9
  10. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2

    Correct

    They work independently to each other.
    #10
  11. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    It's alive, it was exactly the same problem as linked too, had a go at siting the holders without a bulb in and could see the contact catching on the plastic.

    Working great now, the LEDs look great!

    Thank you all :yahoo:
    #11
  12. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    #12
  13. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    iirc some one fitted something similar a while ago.

    Tbh, they were to bright! looked like headlights on the back. LMFAO
    #13
  14. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    #14
  15. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    The 3 led festoons are perfect tbh, not hugely brighter than the OEMs but much whiter, will get some pics. Cheap too, just a pain to fit.
    #15
  16. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    are these straight swop? no soldering of resistors?
    #16
  17. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yup straight swap, they have the resistors mounted already on the PCB.
    #17
  18. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any links?
    #18
  19. Minstadave
    Offline

    Minstadave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    19
    Link in post 3 :)
    #19
  20. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sweet....error free i take it?
    #20
  21. PBA3
    Offline

    PBA3 Don't hate, appreciate!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys ... on the 2009/2010 (mine is late 2009 build) NONE of the ebay that say ERROR FREE will work. I had to install a "canceller" before the lights into the harness. Racing Dash sent me the part because their lights also don't work with the newer A3's I can ask them for more details if you guys want, but if you contact them they will be happy to assist also. They're extremely helpful.
    #21
  22. xnox202
    Offline

    xnox202 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you have a pic of this canceller? Would they sell just the canceller part? Or is it a part of their own LED set?
    #22
  23. PBA3
    Offline

    PBA3 Don't hate, appreciate!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is separate. They sent it to me after I bought their license plate lights.
    #23
  24. xnox202
    Offline

    xnox202 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    4
    I wonder if their canceller works with any other LED sets. Where can I buy this canceller?
    #24
  25. 330_2_S3
    Offline

    330_2_S3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    what size are the front courtsey lights? (Non-map reading lights) I only have the one switch to operate 2 individual lights......
    #25
  26. bluequattro
    Offline

    bluequattro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    3
    i hope these lamps work ok for ya bud, several of mine have failed already and the supplier is terrible to deal with, now in paypals hands

    cal
    #26
  27. PBA3
    Offline

    PBA3 Don't hate, appreciate!

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the racing dash canceller works with any LED bulb. The racing dash license plate lights were WAY too bright, so I replaced them with a set of LEDs and no dash bulb error message for months now.

    Here is their website Racing Dash Enterprise Ltd. I spoke with Sherry at manager@rdash.com.tw
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2010
    #27
  28. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cal did the bulbs produce an error or just faulty bulbs?
    #28
  29. bluequattro
    Offline

    bluequattro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    3
    Smoothie, i got an error first, which i cleared, however the
    Lamps started flickering, ive replaced them for standard
    And will never buy again from f1 autoparts or theyre other
    Ebay shop called easy driving

    Cal
    #29
  30. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    How does that work then? Surely they still look for current draw and kill supply if there is none. Unless they have made the tolerance of the amps smaller so less room for error when installing resistors to fool it.

    I suspect this cancelling box may have resistors in it:)

    Do you have any more info on this PBA3?
    #30
  31. Smoothie
    Offline

    Smoothie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for that mate, i've got the LED's that came as the whole housing, they work perfect but a little bright for my liking! I thought these were the ones to go for with the resistor built in..

    Whats everyone else running?
    #31

Share This Page