1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

At last i'm at 8mb

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Caesium, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    Having had to wait about 9 months for my adsl to get up to the 8mb service I'm finally there! Its in its training mode at the moment so i'm getting between 6-8mbs but its a world better than 2mb I had before.... bloody fantastic!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. joost
    Offline

    joost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    8meg is quality - I'm with Demon and never seem to have drop outs (that I've noticed anyway). Just watch it screw up now... I think it's fantastic for streaming music and video. There's no way I could go back to 2meg.
    #2
  4. Mart
    Offline

    Mart Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    I've put the request in for mine just before Christmas! Waiting for it to happen now!
    Looking forward to it though
    #3
  5. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    8mb im still on 1.1mb and been told best i could get will around 3mb

    alan
    #4
  6. coupe-se
    Offline

    coupe-se Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    I'm on an 8Meg connection and due to the quality of the line and distance from the exchange the best download speed I get is 2meg :crying:

    I use this site for speed testing: http://www.speedtest.net/

    Anyone know any other reliable sites???
    #5
  7. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    #6
  8. K7ERG
    Offline

    K7ERG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    On 8Mb for the 3rd Jan and never noticed a big difference. I think a memory upgrade is on the cards now. 512 at the moment.

    It runs at 8.1
    #7
  9. TDI-line
    Offline

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    I'm still on dial-up.
    #8
  10. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    Hmmmm cutting edge!
    [​IMG]
    #9
  11. TDI-line
    Offline

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    That looks fast.
    #10
  12. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    ULTRA fast....
    #11
  13. bena3turbo
    Offline

    bena3turbo Genuine Dude

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    im on tiscali 1mb. it connects at a mind blowing 160kbps. absolute ****.

    they blame BT and BT blame tiscali.
    #12
  14. Onlyme
    Offline

    Onlyme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    A4 did you buy your modem from a bloke up the pub ? have you tried it out yet as i reckon when you plug it in all you will get is " breaker breaker this is a convoy, coming at you on chanel 12, do you copy funky monkey "
    #13
  15. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    hahaha! Thats not my modem, its the one I sold you, haven't you recieved it yet? Don't worry about the coffee stain on top of it, it makes it work faster.

    This is what I use, can't fault it.
    We supply these all day long, never had a problem with them, I had a NetGear before, what a pile of ****.
    [​IMG]
    #14
  16. joost
    Offline

    joost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    Don't tell me that, I bought a NetGear modem router the other day! :sadlike: What problems did you have?
    #15
  17. Onlyme
    Offline

    Onlyme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    mmmmmm vigor :uhm:

    Im going orf to the plane conveyor belt thread
    #16
  18. Onlyme
    Offline

    Onlyme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]


    It didnt have a coffee stain on the top of it
    #17
  19. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    Restarting it once a day, often couldn't get onto the config page, it seemed to overheat, in the end I binned the ******* thing. only 9 months old.
    #18
  20. joost
    Offline

    joost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    Oh great! I'll just see how it goes for the time being. If it goes tits up, someone may be getting a NetGear shaped suppository.
    #19
  21. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    I'd never buy another, I spec this sort of equipment all day long, and we've had commercial premises with the netgear units in, its shocking. Some people get on with them okay, but my cousin had a netgear and apparently a lightning strike killed it...hmmmm.

    If it stops working then return it and get a draytek, they don't sound very good but they're the best router this side of a cisco and a cisco router will set you back about a grand at the very least.
    #20
  22. joost
    Offline

    joost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    Cheers Chris, I'll keep that in mind. Knowing my luck the bloody thing'll be timebombed to stop working 1 minute after the warranty expires!
    #21
  23. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    no problems with netgear here. I've had about 3 taken out by lightning, but i wouldnt expect it to survive after that.

    one thing that is rubbish though is netgears support. Can't understand a bloody word, and you have to jump through hoops (i.e. reset it and keep resetting it, and get asked about your virus protection) for 30 minutes before you can RMA it.

    one rule of thumb of netgear kit is to never buy one of their new models until it has at least one new firmware released. All of my netgear routers have been unusable till the first firmware release fixed the problems. All of them then have stayed up 24/7 till i have replaced them.

    overall, netgear are good. They were a consumer side to bay networks who were very good, and then got taken over by nortel networks, who are still very good.

    Netgear routers were also chosen by sky as the supplier of their sky broadband routers. Sign up to them and you'll get one free, or at least you used to.
    #22
  24. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    My cousin's router was taken out abd there isn't a telegraph pole in sight of his flat, he lives in a town centre!

    And I wouldn't say that SKY selection was an endorsement, they supply Amstrad equipment
    #23
  25. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 5, 2007]
    hahaha, thats too true!!
    #24

Share This Page