1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Armrest - Phone and Nut Q.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MattyV5, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. MattyV5
    Offline

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 6, 2009]
    Hi,

    Managed to get a black leather armrest for £70 from a breakers, wohoo!

    However it came wit hte phone holder inside, pain! Can this be removed?

    Also, anyone know the nut size for bolting the arm rest down?

    Thanks

    Matty
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. MattyV5
    Offline

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 8, 2009]
    anyone have any ideas?
    #2
  4. MattyV5
    Offline

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 14, 2009]
    Ok, I have fitted the Armrest (used an M8 bolt 25mm long in case you wanted to know)

    I still have the stupid phone prep in the arm rest though? Can I just pop this out? It takes up a lot of room in the armrest plus if I put my ipod in it, I can here it rattleing against each other!!!

    It looks seperate on the exploded diagram of the armrest someone else posted up?
    #3
  5. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 14, 2009]
    I would think that the base part with the pins is part of the armrest. It's only a flat base though. Are you sure you haven't got one of the phone adaptors in? They just slide off the base I think.
    #4
  6. MattyV5
    Offline

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 14, 2009]
    i'll take a pic. If i get a flat head screwdriver in to it, it seems to come back a little.... just don't want to ruin the whole thing!
    #5
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 14, 2009]
    Found this pic:
    [​IMG]

    That's all you should see. If you have a big bracket there then it'll be clipped into the above.
    #6
  8. MattyV5
    Offline

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2009]
    Yep, that's all I have. Can I not remove this then?
    #7
  9. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 15, 2009]
    No idea. Probably, but I guess it'd leave a big hole underneath.
    #8
  10. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    580
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    Hi,
    How is the M8 bolt holding out?? Is your arm rest still fixed securely? No rattles or wobbles?!

    It's just that I've manged to get hold of an arm rest at last :yes: but there is no bolt supplied. Could go to Audi to get one but it's quite hard for me to get there before closing. Thinking about picking up an M8's from B&Q instead.

    Also, was 25mm a good length?
    #9
  11. MattyV5
    Offline

    MattyV5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2009]
    Hi mate, yeah it's still holding strong. You could go for a longer bolt so u can get a nut on the bottom but just the bolt has worked fine for me.

    Thanks

    matty
    #10
  12. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    580
    [Oct 11, 2009]
    :thumbsup:
    B&Q here I come!

    Only thing I need to do now is build up the courage to cut a hole in my centre console and then i'll be ready to start :unsure:
    #11

Share This Page