1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Arggghh RADIO showing SAFE mode!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JB_A3_Turbo, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. JB_A3_Turbo
    Offline

    JB_A3_Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    The 15A fuse for my cigar lighter blew on my A3 1.8T this morning whilst I was attempting to pump up my tyres. Any how I decided to swap the 15A fuse for my radio with the cigar lighter fuse (so I could at least pump my tyres up). On replacing the Radio with a new 15A fuse my concert Radio says SAFE and won't do anything. Presumably I've now activated the theft deterant and need to input the security code- One slight problem is the car never came with a radio code (the manual has the bit where it was filled in but for security purposes it was torn out).

    Is there anything I can do besides contacting Audi to get the code?

    Thanks,

    Jon.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    i don think so. I think you have to visit the dealer with a v5 or summat.
    #2
  4. MarcA3Turbo
    Offline

    MarcA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 7, 2006]
    Yeh, mine went into safe mode a while back too. I'm in Ireland and my car is imported from the UK so I thought it was gonna be a real headache. All I had to do was fax the dealer that supplied the car originally the equivalent of the Irish V5 to prove ownership and 5 minutes later they faxed me back the code, so no worked out pretty easy for me, hope you're as lucky!
    Marc
    #3
  5. monkeytrousers
    Offline

    monkeytrousers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 7, 2006]
    Hmm. My experience with Tonbridge Audi was not so easy. They insisted the car had to be connected to Audi's central computer to download the code. They tried to charge me for this service but I managed to talk them out of it, because the manual had the wrong code printed in it when they sold me the car.
    #4
  6. JB_A3_Turbo
    Offline

    JB_A3_Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    Audi will charge me £25 for a new code!!

    I've seen people talking about being able to get codes from the radio serial number though software calculators that work it out?

    My radio is a concert with serial number starting at AUZ anyone know who makes this it is Blaupunkt?

    Cheers,
    #5
  7. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    have a look in the manual, specifically the radio manual, is there anything on the inside of the cover page ?
    #6
  8. JB_A3_Turbo
    Offline

    JB_A3_Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    Unfortunately not. It was obviously torn off as a security measure! I knew I needed to get it at some point but expected to do this at my leisure rather than have to get it done!

    Who makes the concert radio?
    #7
  9. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    not sure, blaupunkt ?
    Is it not worth paying Audi for it ? They will give you the code aswell so you can note it down, then the job's done !
    #8
  10. JB_A3_Turbo
    Offline

    JB_A3_Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    It just seems to be a bit of a rip off considering lots of people appear to be getting their codes free of charge of the web?
    #9
  11. millsyd
    Offline

    millsyd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    i know on the vw dubs it comes up safe you turn the radio off, start the car let it tick over for about five min's then turn the radio on and it comes safe the press one of your pre sets and the radio should come on.
    try it it wont cost you.
    #10
  12. monkeytrousers
    Offline

    monkeytrousers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    I think you'll have to cough up, it's not the end of the world.
    #11

Share This Page