1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

APR vs MTM vs REVO

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by drs3, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. drs3
    Offline

    drs3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 8, 2007]
    Hi guys,
    after 4000km i think its time for me to have my S3 8p remapped!!!I have already ordered a full Milltek exhaust system(non-resonated) and a Forge DV.And my question is simple: APR , REVO or MTM ?!?!?!?
    I know that some of you have already remapped their cars so any suggestion is useful.......Money is not an issue, so all i care about is power and NO problems!!!

    P.S:I would appreciate if our discussion concerned only the 3 companies above because here in Greece they are the most common!Also there is a possibility that i might fit a stage 3 kit after a while......
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 26, 2014]

  3. Stockholm
    Offline

    Stockholm Stockholm

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    If you have money and don´t wanna have problems - go for GIAC.
    Both APR, Revo and MTM use stone age technology compared to GIAC.

    And stage 3 won´t be a issue. You can first purchase the stage 1 program for the original system 310hp and the dealer will show you how to load the code with the flashloader.
    Then you order your Milltek Resonated Turbo Back- system.
    Just buy a new program, which is adapted to the exhaust system and load it yourself with the flashloader 335hp - voila.

    - Not detectable by Audi if you load the original program.
    - Doesn´t affect the flashcounter, which makes it even better.
    - Switch as many times as you want to between the programs.
    - And! Buy a 200hp program if you´re letting your girl use the car.

    There are two GIAC dealers in Greece - EC Tuning in Thessaloniki, and Robbie S.A in Athens.

    Contact them and ask them what they think about GIAC vs. others.
    Good luck!
    #2
  4. kabuto
    Offline

    kabuto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    How is that? i dont have neither of them (i have unitronic), but why do you say that?What is the main diference?
    #3
  5. Stockholm
    Offline

    Stockholm Stockholm

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    The list could be made longer but i think this is enough.

    MTM still solder a new chip in the box - stone age.
    APR updates the flashcounter - stone age.
    Revo updates the flashcounter - stone age.

    These three tuners will for sure invalidate your warranty if you crasch the car or break the transmission.
    #4
  6. mjair
    Offline

    mjair New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    MTM hasn't been a solder unit for some time now. It's a flash tune providing the mechanic has the cable (from MTM) or an ECU swap where they don't have the cable. No clue about flash counters although I can't say I've ever encountered an issue because of the flash counter.

    Other than that, I'm all for GIAC - definitely the best tune on the market.
    #5
  7. TheWusMan
    Offline

    TheWusMan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    Revo do not increment / update the flashcounter.

    Do you work for GIAC ?

    Just curious.
    #6
  8. kettle
    Offline

    kettle Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    sorry but what do you mean by a stage 3 kit?
    do you mean a larger turbo?
    #7
  9. jonnyc
    Offline

    jonnyc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    GIAC for sure.. They are doing the software for the VF Engineering RS/S and RS/R kits and you even get a discount on the kit if you already have the GIAC sofware on your car..

    I had GIAC and its really very good..

    Jonny
    #8
  10. emzino
    Offline

    emzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    I'd go for MTM. They've been in the game far longer and don't use "stone age technology". Just check google QS Tuning who are the official dealers for MTM and see what there about.

    I'd like to see that list of WHY you should not goto MTM, Revo etc...
    #9
    bdubRS4 likes this.
  11. drs3
    Offline

    drs3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    Stage 3=Big turbo kit
    #10
  12. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    689
    [Dec 10, 2007]
    Some1 on this forum needs to be pushin 400bhp in a new S3. My cousins TT is 330bhp, hes had lots of work done to his car and the performance is quite frankly.

    OUT OF THIS WORLD.
    #11
  13. kettle
    Offline

    kettle Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2007]
    do you actually know what size the turbo is?
    because there are no turbo's which are called stage 1 2 or 3:)
    #12
  14. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 11, 2007]
    I'm guessing superchips/bluefin are not included in the options list due to wanting to upgrade to Stage 2/3 at a later date ?

    They also no longer increment the flash counter and you have 2 maps - 1 good for 310bhp and your own OEM version which you can switch between using the hand held controller.
    #13
  15. Spin140
    Offline

    Spin140 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 11, 2007]
    closest GIAC dealer to me? LE65 ?
    Cost for stage 1 including switchability back to stock ?
    #14
  16. kettle
    Offline

    kettle Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2007]
    with the turbo kits do they sort the fueling out bigger injectors? or turn the boost up?
    does anyone actually know what size turbos are?
    #15
  17. emzino
    Offline

    emzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 11, 2007]
    Seems like GIAC don't do any software upgrades for 2.0TDI
    #16

Share This Page