1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone with OEM bluetooth...

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by SmoothAssault, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    1
    I only figured out how to connect my phone to the OEM bluetooth that came with the car on Saturday. Seems the code to pair the devices was just 1234 (I think I tried EVERYTHING but that!!?).

    I currently have a big ugly cradle thing bolted the the centre console that I've been quoted £40-60 to repair the holes in the dash if I remove the cradle myself, which is easy enough. It appears to be for an ancient nokia and so needs to go as I'm quite happy for my phone to just sit in the space next to the hand brake as it fits there perfectly.

    But, my question...

    Is there any way to answer and hang up a call without pressing any buttons on the actual phone? Surely the whole point in bluetooth hands free is that you don't need to faff around with your phone?

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Cockney Boy
    Offline

    Cockney Boy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your car does not have a MFSW then the answer is no.

    Could you tell us if your car has a navigation system? as there maybe another way?
    #2
  3. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    1
    "MFSW" - Multi-Function Steering Wheel? Nope, not got one of those. And not got any built in navigation either.

    So I'm guessing that without some very expensive upgrades I'm not going to fully hands free?

    :sob:
    #3
  4. V6 Quatt
    Offline

    V6 Quatt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    4
    There isnt much options then. That phone crdle thingy looks too Sales reppy.

    Can other phones be adapted to fit on to it.
    #4
  5. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,882
    Likes Received:
    18
    Could you not find a nice neat cradle and install it using a Brodit mount or similar? As long as the phone is in the cradle when you press a button you will fully be complying with the law as it won't be 'hand held'.

    Or set the phone to auto answer maybe?
    #5
  6. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    agreed with the previous comments: unless you have the satnav / mfsw, there's unlikely to be any way...

    OEM B6 MFSW: you can answer it with the middle left button (I think)

    OEM B7 MFSW: (like mine :footy:) press the left scroll wheel in to answer/end the call.

    (sorry, couldn't resist!)
    [​IMG]

    There's also a button on the satnav screen that gives you and answer / end call option - does anything come up on the headunit when a call comes in or is it just up on the DIS?

    How do you bring you address book up on the DIS screen or confirm which number to call?
    #6
  7. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't you set the phone when its in 'CAR' mode to answer automatically?
    i can do this on my nokia, its under MENU > SETTINGS > ENHANCEMENTS > HANDSFREE > AUTOMATIC ANSWER > ON/OFF
    #7
  8. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oooo, so many things to try!! I have a samsung Omnia that does just about everything under the sun, so I'm sure it has this auto answer feature.

    Lostbok, I'm so jealous of your steering wheel, I can't even describe, lol. Must have cost the earth!?

    When a call comes in, the head unit display changes to "phone" my music turns off and it rings through the speakers until I accept the call on my phone. The DIS display shows the phone number that is calling. To end the call I have to hang up by ressing the button on my phone. And in case it is relevant, I don't have full DIS; just the miles remaining.

    If I can get the phone book display to show up on the DIS, I haven't figured it out yet.

    As for a nice cradle, I'd be happy with the in-arm rest style ones I've seen for the iphone. Especially if I can get this auto-answer feature working.

    Thanks for the help guys.
    #8
  9. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just set up handsfree auto answer on my phone, thanks to everyone who suggested that!! Will give it a try tomorrow and let you know how I get on.

    Cheers.
    #9

Share This Page