1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

anyone retro-fitted air-con?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by VAGMAN1, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. VAGMAN1
    Offline

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    was thinking about doing it but it appears to be a MAJOR job! has anyone done it and if so how hard was it/what was the total cost?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    I wouldn't even consider it, that is probably the biggest retrofit job possible!
    Easier to swap cars I'm afraid.
    #2
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    it is a major job. I have fitted the control panel and associated parts (centre console, housing etc) inside the car including all the wiring. I still have to fit the aircon side of it! I do have the rest of the parts apart from a pipe still to get, once I get that it will be ready to be checked and gassed (in time for summer!). Cost is hard to say, i got most parts off of ebay and breakers. Must be about the £500 mark by now. Probably better if you got it off one car all at the same time - I got the whole airbox including motors and evaporator for £27 of ebay and then spent £30+ on the sunlight penetration sensor!

    I did it as much for the challenge - nobody else had done it and most said it would be too expensive too, but its the same price as a remap. When it gets a bit warmer I will be fitting the pipes,compressor and condensor.
    #3
  5. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    It will be expensive, no two ways about it.

    khufu - sunlight penetration sensor? What, where?

    Kev.
    #4
  6. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    its the sensor in the middle of the top of the dashboard between the two vents that blow air onto the windscreen. I'm lucky as I have all the wiring diagrams and somebody to gas the system for me.
    #5
  7. VAGMAN1
    Offline

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    what does the sunlight penetration sensor do?
    #6
  8. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,200
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    what does the sunlight penetration sensor do?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Tells the CC wether it's daytime or night time, and adjusts the temps to suit.
    #7
  9. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    *note* wire it in BEFORE putting the dash back together /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 5, 2006]
    I wondered what that nipple thing was between the airvents, thanks khufu!
    #9

Share This Page