Anyone here work as an Analyst?

Naresh

Reaction score
To be more specific - a data or information analyst. I'm going for a new role and needed some pointers on what to revise on for the testing phase. They're asking for experience in actual data analysis but my current role is limited to alot of data extraction and conversion using using pivot tables, rather than actual analytical work.

If you can give me some pointers or PM some actual test papers/examples that would be a huge help, as a starting point on what I should expect.

Analyst can mean a million & one things........can you be more specific than data/information analyst? For instance my job title is Financial & Planning Analyst for a division of a well known cable tv/phone/mobile/broadband provider beginning with the letter "V"! Im really an accountant though so number crunch stats & performance data for the division.

Being general though, there's not a lot to get concerned about in fairness, your excel skills you talk of are critical as presentation of data is one of the key things you'll no doubt be doing. The basics of an analytical job is to look at some data, look for trends, look for good & bad things, compare data against a budget or other forecast, investigate anything you dont understand, and then present it to end users in a logical way so they can understand it quickly. These are the kind of skills to talk about at interview.

Im being a little general here but hope it helps in any case.

Hi thanks for the reply - I should have been more specific. Basically I work for the government to produce crime statstics for the Met and Home Office. The figures are extracted from a central database where officers input crime records. We then extract these, input into access databases and convert via pivot tables into meaningful reports. Alot of the work I do is therefore data processing and report production rather than Analyst job title we're given.