1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ANYONE HELP?? Head Unit - Single Din to Double Din Conversion

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by rdhighoctane, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. rdhighoctane
    Offline

    rdhighoctane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2011]
    Hi ASN Members! Bobby H here,

    This is what my unit looks like atm:
    http://www.carheadunit.co.uk/temp/im...nit-remove.jpg

    I was going to go up to Audi Cardiff the other morning but after reading a few more threads and forums im finding more and more out about parts and types.

    Basically iv got my current step by step guide sorted from these two sources:
    DIY:Single to Double Din Conversion for Audi A3
    and
    AudiWorld Tech Articles

    BUT as I’ve seen somewhere; someone mentioned there are 2 different types of DD cages? and these guides are obviously American - so would the Part No's still be the same? If NOT, can somebody possibly list all the correct Part No's I would need?

    Btw this is the new unit I need to install:
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/6-5-GPS-SA...item3a66720a1f

    Also
    I'm hoping I can keep a drinks holder rather than getting a card tray, any new Part No. needed? If you know a good place I can source all these parts that would be great! (apart from the local stealer that is).

    I would really apreciate any help guys. Thanks!!!!!! :D
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. zippyijk
    Offline

    zippyijk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2011]
    Just bumping this in hope of a reply, I'm doing the same as the OP with a different double din HU.
    #2
  4. rdhighoctane
    Offline

    rdhighoctane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    Hi zippyijk! Any luck with your DD conversion? I can't get any Part no. details from anyone! Iv gone and placed an order for parts from the local steeler that I hope will fit, should be ready to pick up this week. I will let you know!
    #3
  5. zippyijk
    Offline

    zippyijk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    Well I think I've got the list of parts I need for the new style look dash from other threads here there and everywhere....
    Double din cage 8P0 858 005 D
    Frame surround for buttons 8P0 863 321 F 6PS
    Then the 3 buttons themselves..
    Blank left button 8P0 941 515 D 5PR
    ESP button 8P0 927 134 D 5PR
    Airbag light (Control lamp for airbag) 8P0 919 234 B 5PR
    or if you don't want airbag light but a blank...
    Blank right 8P0 941 518 5PR
    Then you need the inside frame to hold those three buttons...
    Button frame inside 8P0 941 567 A 5PR
    Middle Hazard Light Switch 8P0 941 509 D 5PR
    RHS Cardholder 8P0 941 561 J 5PR

    If you don't want a cardholder but different buttons then here's the rest
    TPMS button (first button on LHS) 8P0 927 121 C 5PR
    Then the RHS block of 3...
    Switch for self-levelling system 8P0 927 127 A 5PR (or Blank 8P0 941 516 D 5PR)
    Switch for parking aid 8P0 919 281 5PR (or Blank 8P0 941 516 E 5PR)
    Switch for vehicles with park assist system 8P0 927 123 5PR (or Blank 8P0 941 516 F 5PR)
    Button frame inside 8P0 941 567 B 5PR (mounting for the 3 RHS buttons)
    #4
  6. rdhighoctane
    Offline

    rdhighoctane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2012]
    Hey zippyijk,

    How did your conversion go? Did mine end of last year. Boy that was a Polava, but im confident that I could do it again no probs!
    Just to update you, the aftermarket unit I had was rubbish! Saying that, DO NOT BUY FROM 'SYNTER.TECH'
    So I am now in process of getting my money back off them - the unit didnt actually have a working DVB TV? It was basically a TV option but you'd have to buy a Digital receiver seperately for it to work (and they cost £200+!!) so that was very misleading...
    ATM im looking at an OEM RNS-E, the latest 193 (glossy black surround / chrome buttons) model. So it anyones got any thing they think I should know, please list!
    So yeah stay away from Synter.Tech - very crappy service.

    BTW I will make a step by step guide to doing the conversion from single din to double cage and installation etc.. I took photos durring mine for this reason. Bare with me on that though lol...

    Peace!
    #5
  7. a3sline_nottingham
    Offline

    a3sline_nottingham Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2012]
    any links to the step by step guide - i really want to do this on my 56 A3
    #6
  8. Dec
    Offline

    Dec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 24, 2012]
    Zippyijk, how much was it for all the bits you needed from the dealer please?
    #7
  9. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Apr 24, 2012]
    i have an rns sitting around 300 posted if any new converters want it?
    #8
  10. Dec
    Offline

    Dec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 24, 2012]
    I'd love to as i want an OEM head unit and sat nav, but got a feeling all the parts for the conversion are expensive lol
    #9
  11. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Apr 24, 2012]
    What features do you want / need I can advise an approximate cost or the parts required
    #10
  12. Dec
    Offline

    Dec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 25, 2012]
    I need literarily everything to go from single - double din :( cage, buttons etc, been trying to find prices as I don't want to gasp in the stealers lol
    #11
  13. rdhighoctane
    Offline

    rdhighoctane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2012]
    Double din cage 8P0 858 005 D - £38.56

    Frame surround for buttons 8P0 863 321 F6 PS - £8.01

    Blank left button 8P0 941 515 D5 PR - £2.75

    ESP button 8P0 927 134 D5 PR - £12.51

    Airbag control light 8P0 919 234 B5 PR - £11.04

    Blank right 8P0 941 518 5P R - £2.75

    Button frame 8P0 941 567 A5 PR - £3.11

    Hazard Light Switch 8P0 941 509 D5 PR - £22.84

    Cardholder 8P0 941 561 J5 PR - £29.00!!! (May want to opt for the blank buttons if out of ya budget!)


    Came to a total of £130.57 (£156.68 incl Tax) for me.
    #12
  14. rdhighoctane
    Offline

    rdhighoctane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2012]
    Hi P5SND, What is the model number of the rns you have?
    #13
  15. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    The cage is best bought from eBay saves you trimming if you get a climate unit too :)

    My rns is mk 1 with sds from factory also have a rsap adapter for low phone prep to Bluetooth
    #14
  16. Dec
    Offline

    Dec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    Wow that's a lot cheaper than I expected! Did you trim your climate down?
    #15
  17. Dec
    Offline

    Dec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    Ive been keeping an eye out on eBay but they don't seem to come up too often :( Kind of come to grips with the idea of trimming the climate now, I'll probs get my friend to do it as he's handier with stuff like that than I am :)

    think ill pop down to Audi at the weekend!
    #16
  18. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    always worth messaging breakers, you might have to take the stereo as well but you cna always flog that on
    #17
  19. Dannyhall
    Offline

    Dannyhall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    So am i right in thinkin if i get a double din cage from an 06 car i can put the new radio in with new acelift buttons and facelft climate but the climate will need trimming?
    #18
  20. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    I did this on my A3 TDi last year.

    All i bought was the double din cage and the trim that fits over the buttons.

    I managed to use everything else by trimming them slightly including the cup holder that i placed at the bottom right of the RNS.

    Basically all the trimming was the trim that fitted over the buttons that i filed slightly wider to accommodate the slightly larger buttons.

    I also trimmed the aircon unit.

    This is the 3rd one i have done as i also did Mrs B,s Cab & an A6 that i sold on.
    #19
  21. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    483
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    this is very interesting... i want to see how it looks after you trimmed all the buttons down mate...have you got a few pictures of how it looks now?
    #20
  22. Johnny Bravo
    Online

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    You can use the cage and the facelift buttons. The climate requires trimming only if it is the 1Din version.
    I've recently done this retrofit but I'm stuck at this part. I have to find the proper tools to trim the control panel.
    Yesterday I've won a 2dIN panel with the facelift buttons. I intend to swap the faceplate and buttons on the current panel.
    #21
  23. zippyijk
    Offline

    zippyijk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    Here's how I did it, getting the single din cage out was a pain in the hole but I eventually got it done. Just take your time.
    I don't have a list of the prices here...I keep the all receipts in the service book in the car.

    #22
  24. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    Sorry cant find anymore at the moment but you get the gist. I was in the prcess of filing the cupholder down as the pic was taken

    [​IMG]
    #23
  25. Dannyhall
    Offline

    Dannyhall Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    So how much are we talking about trimming on the climate unit? And what areas need trimming?

    -also whts the difference between 1Din cage and 2Din cage?
    #24
  26. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    Well you need to move it down so its around 10mm per side which tapers to nothing.

    Its best to make a paper template & then dremel it down carefully
    #25
  27. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    483
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    im interested in how you did the buttons... as it looks like they are falling into the cage in that pic
    #26
  28. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    Thats the way they fitted into the cage. Once the trim was over they looked rather good in the way they were flush at the button and recessed at the top. Almost like they should be like that so your line of vision saw them as level.
    tbh the 3 buttons were ever so slightly close together so a slight filing of the trimmed them loose again. The cupholder took a little more but all looked factory once finished
    #27
  29. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    theres a cage with prefacelift style buttons on ebay now for all retroers
    #28
  30. mathu
    Offline

    mathu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    quick question, what is the difference between 8P0 858 005 A and 8P0 858 005 D
    #29
  31. rdhighoctane
    Offline

    rdhighoctane Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 30, 2012]
    Hey Dec, sorry for the way late reply - no, I didnt have to do any triming because I was lucky enough to find a 2010 model climate control for a double din cage, bought it at a bargain of £50 from a breaker. simply slotted in lower down.

    Its been a while have you made any progress with your convert?
    #30
  32. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jun 30, 2012]
    Your climate won't work on auto unless your car is 57 plate or newer
    #31
  33. Dec
    Offline

    Dec Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 4, 2012]
    No progress on mine yet, had to have my cambelt done, and it's in for a wheel bearing next week so been a bit slow.
    Possibly going to gather parts this month and decide what to do about the head unit/climate next month. Still undecided if I should trim my climate or just buy a double din one :/

    Another thing that's worrying me, is now I've properly looked at some RNS-e threads is that they seem to need a lot of coding and messing about with the aerial?

    Not sure if mine would need the coding though as I don't have a MFSW or even the DIS, so possibly get away with that one?

    Need to do some more reading :)
    #32
  34. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    483
    [Aug 5, 2012]
    if you do need coding just come down to dartford and i can do that for you.
    i also have a double din climate and facelift buttons for sale
    #33
  35. rodders11
    Offline

    rodders11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2013]
    Hi new member here and doing the conversion as well, you say climate control unit wont work in a 57 plate or newer, i have a 54 plate and have sourced a unit from an 07 will this work? Thanks.
    #34
  36. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 17, 2013]
    Can you not fit the facelift Climate control units to the pre facelift too??
    #35
  37. rodders11
    Offline

    rodders11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 17, 2013]
    Apparently not,pretty much anything from an 07 and newer will not work properly on anything older than an 07 plate.
    #36
  38. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 17, 2013]
    #37
  39. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 17, 2013]
    Not fibbing as such - it will fit but won't work on anything earlier than 2007 ! He wouldn't know that of course !!!
    #38
  40. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    483
    [Jan 18, 2013]
    #39
  41. mathu
    Offline

    mathu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 10, 2013]
    if anyone is interested i have all the parts needed to do the conversion expect the hazard button, but u can use the single din button as a temp, i dont have the actual double din heater controls, i just cut mine down but i am wanting to sawp mine for a single din controls so that i can change mine back
    #40

Share This Page