1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone free to do some error coding?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by BBlackburn, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    I need some error codes sorted ASAP need new MOT or can't get to work, I don't mind driving to anyone if there not ridiculously far from Epsom. Please anyone
    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    I am in London... i know its not exactly round the corner but i can meet up somewhere after work tonight?
    #2
  4. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    That would be great I'm literally 11 miles from central London where could you meet?
    #3
  5. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    I work in East Central London so i could meet you somewhere around East London or South-East if thats any easier?
    #4
  6. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Fixed!

    Alarm chirps, error codes cleared, nav re-coded, and a set of Silvertec indicator side repeators.

    Good to see you, and best of luck with the MoT.

    And now go and get some Rain-X from Halfords!
    #5
  7. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    where are you based Warren ?
    #6
  8. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    PM'd
    #7
  9. BBlackburn
    Offline

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Yeah thanks to everyone else for their offers but warren managed to sort everything! Out for me appreciate that warren nice to meet you to, just got to halfords now actually. Went for one error code came bag with more than I bargained for.
    Cheers
    Ben
    #8
  10. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    When you say nav recoded... Do you require the "code" to do this? Also is setting the alarm chirp a 5 minute job?
    #9
  11. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    a 5 mouse click job :)
    #10
  12. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Radio code - no, list of options so you can set the long code description yes.

    2 minute! Knowing where to look helps, but if you want to do it let me know and I'll type up the process flow / codes
    #11
  13. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    No probs mate, glad to help.

    Funnily enough the error code turned out to be more than we both thought, ended up having to dissemble and reconfigure the light switch internals for the headlamp and then the error codes could be cleared. Kept us guessing for a bit, but it's all good. Wondered why code wouldn't clear, but if any of you get a headlamp switch related failure after you've had it apart, it basically means you've not put it back together or aligned it properly. Thankfully Ben had a bootful of tools which meant we could fix it and he could prize out my Silvertec side repeaters and ensure Audi didn't get them for free when I traded my car!
    #12
  14. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Unfortunately I dont have vagcom so I'd pop down your way to get it done. With coding a satnav.. Planning on getting a 2011 model, if it doesn't have the code would you be able to swap my 2007 mode and code it in?
    #13
  15. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Always happy to help out with VVCDS / VAGCOM coding.

    All I need is a radio code (not sure you can recover the radio code with VCDS if you haven't got the code), and then it's a 2 minute job.

    As I'm in Berkshire isn't that a bloody long journey? I think there is a VCDS / VAGCOM sticky somewhere on the forum with a list of owners / locations so you can find someone local to you and save mileage costs. Always happy to do it, but just conscious it's about a 3.5hr drive from Cambridge to here!
    #14
  16. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    123
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Pm'd back but your box is full mate :)
    #15
  17. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 19, 2011]
    Fixed, thanks for letting me know
    #16
  18. windy751
    Offline

    windy751 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    I'm in the situation as Rob, I dont have vagcom so looking for some help. My kit (8P0 035 193 G, previous Chorus IIIorIV in A3, 2011) should arrive next week. Where are you based in Berks?
    Cheers
    #17
  19. windy751
    Offline

    windy751 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    By the way - which vagcom do you have, any recommendation?
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
    #18
  20. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    Latest VCDS software and one of the original cables from NHN(not sure on version number, but it's the usual hex can USB jobbie).

    Always PM location as there are too many thriving pikeys scanning the web.
    #19
  21. windy751
    Offline

    windy751 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    Many thanks warren!
    Perfect - its not far away:)
    I'll let u know when the kit arrive.
    Cheers
    windy
    #20
  22. windy751
    Offline

    windy751 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 23, 2011]
    Im new here, so cant send pm yet.
    #21

Share This Page