1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone fitted there battery in the boot?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Andrew@A.L.D, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. reptor245

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    6
    Shamless Plug!! Stupid Title to make people click it, then onto a Shameless plug.
     
  4. Plunky

    Plunky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    3
    thats just his avatar thingy mate

    As for the question... i havnt seen anyone relocaten the battery in the boot on an a3/s3.
    I did it in my old nova track car and my dad has his relocated in his 172 turbo, pretty simple thing to do really
     
  5. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    I just didn't want to do it and it throw up a code or anything like that
     
  6. Plunky

    Plunky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    3
    i cant see how it would throw up a code. as long as you do it properly and use proper gauged cable and re-earth it in a good place then it should be fine.
     
  7. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    I know it won't throw a code i wanted to do it right
     
  8. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,326
    Likes Received:
    2,428
    There's was a chap in a stripped out 1.8T 5dr on our stand @GTI Inters, it was silver with black LM reps I think? He had the battery in the spare wheel well. Don't know his username though....

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,368
    Likes Received:
    102
    A few of the cupra boys have done it but not seen any a3/s3 guys do it.

    Would be nice to do, the s3 engine bay is a right bitch to work on, its tighter than a nun's chuff, haha.
     
  10. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    The reason i want to do it is to make a ram air for the air filer from the grill
     
  11. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
  12. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
  13. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    Bill ordered it in mate... no idea other than that...

    <tuffty/>
     
  14. george_seamons

    george_seamons Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    33
    The pictured A3 is indeed mine. Moving the battery to the boot is fairly straight forward (on a stripped out car anyway!)

    I wanted better weight distribution, and also needed the space for an air filter. Any more questions, please feel free to ask me :)
     
  15. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    Just want to know spec'c of the cables and pics if that ok?
     
  16. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,003
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    Used 50mm welding cable on the Polo...

    <tuffty/>
     
  17. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
  18. george_seamons

    george_seamons Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    33
    I just used some cable I had from an old ICE install. I *think* its 4 gauge. With a "fully laden" car, you might want something a bit more hefty though. Although saying that, I never seem to have any troubles with mine, it doesn't get warm or anything, but then again, there isn't really a lot in mine to power!
     
  19. emery1990

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    have you thought of relocating the washer bottle as well? Too a smaller bottle and chuck it in the boot too?
     
  20. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    No why would i want to do that?

    The reason for the battery in the boost is to clear a path way for some ducting from the grill, though where the battery used to live to the side of the air box
     
  21. emery1990

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well as you said you need ducting where your battery is then moving your water bottle isnt needed, just thought you was tidying it up:D And putting it on the rear left for weight distribution.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    I'm doing it for better air flow to the filter not weight distribution

    Its a S3 its a heavy car to start with
     
  24. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
    Plan is in action no as i've just got another airbox to replace my holly one and the rest of the stuff needed

    All will be clear when i post pictures
     
  25. Lee172

    Lee172 GT3071

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    2
    I done this in my a3 i used, 2 X 4 gauge wires to the back for the power then re-earthed it again in the boot. I would also fuse it as well to be safe, i was told to fuse it in the front and the back but ended up just putting a fuse in the front.
     
  26. MUSH

    MUSH MUSH Developments Ltd.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    11
    if you do fuse it, which i would then its best practice to do it as close to the battery as you can otherwise the cable between the battery and the fuse at the front is affectively unfused and in the event of a fault could cause some major fireworks and even set the car on fire!!

    in my mk2 20vt i fitted a 200 amp megafuse from vehiclewiringproducts
     
  27. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    17
    You could always just turn your battery 90 degrees n take closer to the middle of the car. Not sure If I've got a pic but I removed the old battery box n made a new tray out of aluminium. Not got as much space as if you moved it to the boot but it's a lot easier n takes about an hour.
     
  28. 1animal1

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    35
    or just buy one of those small batteries :)
     
  29. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    17
    Here's what I did: (ignore the horrible 3 pipes above the battery, temporary job)

    [​IMG]
     
  30. Andrew@A.L.D

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,705
    Likes Received:
    469
  31. S3 Paul

    S3 Paul Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    90
    I did concider this when i looked at fitting a new filter an putting a round hole in the side of the air box with ducting straight to the grill.
    I was going to make some kind of bracket too to keep the cover where it is but then i toyed with the idea of an induction kit with just the ducting squezed in place of the old cold air feed
     
  32. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    17
    The battery cover sits over the top, this picture was taken before I made the bracket.
     
  33. 1animal1

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    35
    Lemon...you wana borrow my degreaser mate ;)
     
  34. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,326
    Likes Received:
    2,428
    LOL! Isn't the idea of moving the battery to the boot is to reduce weight up front? Lose the engine covers!!!
     
  35. Lemon S3

    Lemon S3 Alex

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah If you want to do it for me :moa:
     
  36. 1animal1

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    35
    tell you what, you degrease and i'l regrease sweetheart :p
     
  37. jcs356

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    45
    I thought 4 AWG cable wasn't chunky enough?? After lots of conversations with motor factors and a specialist cable co. I concluded that 0 AWG was the right spec for my Ibiza which had its battery in the boot. You may well 'get away' with something thinner but I didn't want my car to catch fire.

    Anyway, put a two post cable joiner where the battery used to be in the front (handy for jump starting!) and a length of welder cable of a similar gauge between the joiner and the starter motor:
    [​IMG]

    And attached the battery to the boot floor with a couple of ratchet straps:
    [​IMG]

    Not exactly the neatest way of doing it but it was only a trackday toy.
     

Share This Page