1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

anyone change the tickover using vcds?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Tom_B, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Tom_B

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    19
    In the FAQ it says

    01-Engine: -- KWP-1281
    VCDS works well with all engines available in the U.S. and most engines that users have tested in overseas markets.
    Idle Speed Adaptation:

    With engine warmed up, at idle:
    [Select]
    [01 engine]
    [Adaptation - 10]

    Enter channel 01
    Enter an adaptation value between 124 and 132
    [Save]

    (May require a Login of 01283 or 11463, depending on year or model)

    VCDS - didnt want to go with channel 01 and when I changed it to channel 02 it seemed to be the tickover setting. First off VCDS didnt want to accept the request but then asked if I was really sure so I cancelled out of it all and scampered to ASN to see what other folks have done.

    Any experiences?

     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Administrators

    Administrators Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Audi A4 Audi A2 TDi Audi Sport Owner Group saloon

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,912
    Likes Received:
    524
    This is one of the setting in Lemmiwinks that Revo released years ago. You might still find a copy hanging around on the web.

    lemm1fk.jpg
     
  4. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    i have seen it on my vcds ,have a customer who wants to change his idle as his van keeps stalling, never tried it yet myself.
     
  5. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,097
    Likes Received:
    424
    Old vag com could do it, i see no reason VDCS won't.

    I used the exact proceedure on my previous car no problem
     
  6. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    64
    What car are you trying to do it on?

    The 2.5TDi login is different - 26242 is for the AFB engine
     
  7. Tom_B

    Tom_B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    19
    It's the 1.9 tdi I just got a cable and downloaded vcds lite. It seems to get into the system fine but doesn't see channel one only channel 2. I'll try and do some screen shots to show what I am trying to describe. I want to slow the idle because it's an auto and what feels like a fast idle causes the clutch to drag more than I like and certainly feels more than the v6.
     
  8. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    64
    You need to log in using the 1.9 codes from the Ross-Tech site, then go into Basic Settings, after logging in.

    However.....
    I don't think you can do it with VCDS lite - although I'm sure somebody will be along to point that out soon enough :keule:
     
  9. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    64
    Just to add,

    With most of the Basic Settings groups if you put in a stupidly high value, the system will only set the Max - and vice versa for the lower end of the scale. Handy if you don't know what to start with.
     

Share This Page