1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anybody try retrofitting a RS4 FBSW?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Rabbit222, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 25, 2008]
    As the topic states, has anybody tried this? Will it be a simple but expensive mod? Yeah I know, Its friday :)

    :redface:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [Jul 25, 2008]
    I prefer the S3 FBSW to the RS4 one personally.
    #2
  4. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 25, 2008]
    Yeah, I'm just curious to see if anybody has taken the plunge and tried this.
    #3
  5. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 25, 2008]
    i liked the brushed alum bottom part but not so keen on the suede. As for fitting, sorry, no idea if its physically possible.
    #4
  6. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 25, 2008]
    The only thing about the RS4 wheel is that if you already have the MFSW you'll be missing some functions on the RS4 one. From what I remember the RS4 wheel only has 4 buttons for volume up\down and track up\down. No mode button, no SDS button and no scroll wheels.

    In theory it should fit as long as it is a 12mm internal wrench bolt jobbie holding it in. The only difficulty you might have is with the airbag loom and MF controls.
    #5
  7. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Jul 26, 2008]
    Thanks for that Marc....quick question. My S3 FBSW has a MODE button but is not functional. What functions does the MODE button control?
    #6
  8. sleeves_008
    Offline

    sleeves_008 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 26, 2008]
    The only thing I use mode for is when I press it, I can access my phone book on the DIS and scroll down to the name I want to dial. Think mode is only used in the phone prep kit, but I will stand corrected.
    #7
  9. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 26, 2008]
    The MODE button only works if you have BT. It is used to switch from Radio\CD to phone on the display so you can view your phone book.
    #8
  10. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jul 26, 2008]
    Think someone on here has done it a while ago.....
    #9
  11. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Jul 26, 2008]
    It's worse than that ... yes the RS4 FBSW has only 4 buttons, but the SCSM detects that it's an RS4 wheel and will not accept the coding to make them work as volume and track up/down buttons (on an RS4 the buttons are the three trip computer buttons and the Sport button). So you get a FBSW with no working buttons - not much use really.
    #10
  12. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Jul 29, 2008]
    Just get a FBMFSW
    #11
  13. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 29, 2008]
    They are standard item in South Africa.
    #12

Share This Page