1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anybody know how to remove the airvents on the A3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Rabbit222, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    41
    Is this an easy job? The airvents on the dashboard? I'm going to be fitting my Defi boost guage and OSIR opod and wanted to know if removing the airvent is a simple process? Any and all help will be highly appreciated....

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    According to ELSAWIN:

    The 45 degrees in the above notes starts with the dot on the ring at 12 o'clock. It would appear that there is a groove at the 9 o'clock position which needs to be lined up in order for the vent to come out.
    #2
  3. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trust ol MarkQ to come to the rescue! Thanks mate!
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    guess the program works ok then :rockwoot:
    #4
  5. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah, but only on my XP machine. don't think it likes Vista very much.
    #5
  6. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    41
    Blue screen FTL!!!! Vista sucks ass! Looks like I'll need XP for it to work on my PC.
    #6
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I changed mine for the oem S3 version some months back, they just pull out, just lever a thin screwdriver behind them & wiggle the buggers out side to side about 1-2 cm's & then pull out, thats what I did, no damage at all
    #7
  8. biggiep
    Offline

    biggiep Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right click on the .exe file of the elsawin program in vista, click on properties then change the compatibility mode to windows xp sp2 and it should work. Apologies if already tried!
    #8
  9. emzino
    Offline

    emzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Make a small step-by-step if you can. I wouldn't mind having a stab at doing this too
    #9
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    step by step of the elsawin vista install or the vent change??
    #10
  11. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    He doesnt have 170+ thanks for nowt :D

    He should open a modding site :)
    #11
  12. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    Ahh good ole vista:

    [​IMG]
    #12
  13. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    think he meant the vent change. the elsawin compatability thing won't work so can be ignored.
    #13
  14. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    5
    Here you go

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Ive got issues using Elasawin on Vista, it wount let me remove the trial period for some reason. Ive got it working on my XP no probs
    #14
  15. Rabbit222
    Offline

    Rabbit222 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    41
    Awesome stuff! Thanks Matt!
    #15

Share This Page