1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any sparkies in the house?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by beaker, Sep 20, 2006.

  1. beaker

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    If there are, can one of you tell me if the TV aerial socket carries a lot of voltage and/or current. I keep getting zapped when connecting my TV and I've never had that happen before.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. TDI-line

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore
    Team Floret Silver quattro Audi A3 Black Edition TDi

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,236
    Likes Received:
    417
    I'm not an electrician, but the voltage (if any) is minimal.

    You should not be getting a bolt from it.

    Sounds like you have a stray connection somewhere.
     
  4. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm no electrician either but agree with TDI.
     
  5. beaker

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what I was thinking. Its not a massive shock but its not pleasant either. Maybe need to get someone to check it out.
     
  6. Rev-head

    Rev-head Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    7
    That does not sound right....... stray wire up in the attic??.......booster related to maybe?

    Beaker check out the meet section getting a wee get togther sorted out:beerchug:
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    45
    Are you sure it's not just static? Touching it with your finger will earth it and thus discharge it, so if it is static, then once you've touched it, it should not give you another belt if you touch it again. Also ensure you turn the TV off & wait a few minutes before touching it. Older TV's do generate a large amount of static, which could be leaking through the screened braid of the aerial cable. But no, an aerial socket should not be carrying any voltage on the outer shielding.
     
  8. beaker

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Andy, i'll have another look at it.

    Rev, i posted a reply into your meet thread.
     
  9. amb276s3

    amb276s3 bird spotter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    if using a booster it is worth earthing at least one of the coaxial plugs, just the braiding, if not i would try earthing the aerial coax braid anyway that way if there is another fault it would trip thr rcd or mcb and you should be able to find the cause, just run a link wire from the earth pin in the plug to the coax if you want to avoid major work
     
  10. neil.c

    neil.c Senior

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    The tv transformer could be leaking some voltage down to the chassis and as your tv is likely to be double insulated it is earthing through you and the aerial screen when you plug the aerial in, or as Andymac says it is static
     
  11. neil.c

    neil.c Senior

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just checked one of our tv's out and when switched on it has 52 volts between the aerial outer screen and the earth at the socket outlet, it is a less than one year old Toshiba
     

Share This Page