1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Midlanders with AndyMac install?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Markb, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 22, 2004]
    As subject I am considering the AndyMac install, but I am not convinced that a 6.5" or 8" sub is going to be up to producing good bass. So I am hoping that there are some Midlanders that have got the install so I can have a listen? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    I was going to put my 2* JL Audio 10W3v2's powered by a Phoenix Gold Tantrum 600.4, but I am hoping that I can get away without them and save some boot space.



    I would still be installing the rest of my kit though to go along with it. If I do go with the Mac install:

    Nak CD400
    Phoenix Gold PLD1
    Phoenix Gold EQ232
    JL Audio 650 CXi's
    Phoenix Gold Bass cube
    Phoenix Gold Tantrum 250.2
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. blackwood
    Offline

    blackwood Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2004]
    Hi Guys,
    Is Scarborough any good? For the money,the AndyMac sub is superb value for money,and sounds great compared to the standard set-up.Have also changed all the speakers for Kenwood components tho the HU is the standard Symphoney jobbie.Forget Bose,it's a very expensive joke,if you want more bass and a music system that you actually want to listen to,then this is the way to go..Have had mine 5 months now and still love it!!!

    Regards Blackwood /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #2
  4. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 25, 2004]
    Obviously not then?
    #3
  5. paulbinks
    Offline

    paulbinks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 27, 2004]
    Hi
    Have been measuring up the space in my S3 where the bose bass box is fitted and if the changer is moved to the right i recon i will easily get my rockford 10" audiofile sub in a fibreglass/mdf enclosure which would fit behind the original panels,my sub was in an enclosure which was within the confines of the rear of a 15" spare wheel and won competitions with it so broaden your minds and get out the tape measure boys and bring on the bass.
    Cheers "Bingo"
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #4
  6. paulbinks
    Offline

    paulbinks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 2, 2004]
    Hi All
    15" diameter by 7" deep with a 10" rockford fitted sealed and good to go down to 30 hz on rta fitted at the rear of 15" alloy on an Audi coupe quattro.
    Cheers "Bingo"
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
    #5
  7. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 7, 2004]
    TTT again /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
    #6
  8. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,699
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    [Dec 10, 2004]
    I've finally got it working today!, just need to tidy up Mark, then will give you a demo sometime /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #7
  9. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 11, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    jojo said:
    I've finally got it working today!, just need to tidy up Mark, then will give you a demo sometime /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Nice one chap /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #8
  10. imported_maviceuk
    Online

    imported_maviceuk Guest

    [Dec 13, 2004]
    Mark B

    I am in mids, M5 J5, if you want a demo of amss

    would have to be an evening though
    #9
  11. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,699
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    [Dec 14, 2004]
    I reckon it's time for a Midland mini meet lol. Mine needs some tweaking still, as I'm getting alternator whine every time I blip the throttle, not sure if it's a poor Earth or dodgy Live /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    #10
  12. monty77
    Offline

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 14, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    jojo said:
    I reckon it's time for a Midland mini meet lol. Mine needs some tweaking still, as I'm getting alternator whine every time I blip the throttle, not sure if it's a poor Earth or dodgy Live /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Could be lots of things /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Poor earth
    Crappy shielding on the RCA leads
    RCA cables sitting next to power cables

    ...important to use good quality cabling.

    You can get alternator noise suppressors from Halfrauds - not sure how effective they are.

    A
    #11
  13. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 14, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    NOGGY S3 said:
    Mark B

    I am in mids, M5 J5, if you want a demo of amss

    would have to be an evening though

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Nice one matey.

    I will see if we can sort something in the new year /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #12
  14. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    121
    [Dec 15, 2004]
    jojo, i'd put my bets on a bad earth

    i ran cheapo RCAs in my golf next to the power cable and didnt have a problem, well i did at first but that was due to a dodgy earth
    #13
  15. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 15, 2004]
    Hi jojo

    There's no way adding an amp & sub can cause the problems you're experiencing, unless you've upset something during the install (knocked a connection or something)
    The only problem someone had was headlights dimming in time to the beat which was down to a battery or alternator on it's way out.
    Could be the same problem you have, as sub amps draw quite a bit of juice. Does the car start up alright or does the starter motor sound a bit sluggish. As already stated in your other post, wierd things can happen if you're low on charge.
    #14
  16. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,699
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    [Dec 16, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    AndyMac said:
    Hi jojo

    There's no way adding an amp & sub can cause the problems you're experiencing, unless you've upset something during the install (knocked a connection or something)
    The only problem someone had was headlights dimming in time to the beat which was down to a battery or alternator on it's way out.
    Could be the same problem you have, as sub amps draw quite a bit of juice. Does the car start up alright or does the starter motor sound a bit sluggish. As already stated in your other post, wierd things can happen if you're low on charge.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hi Andy, lets start by saying that I'm not putting any blame on you at all mate, so hope you wasn't offended at all, its a quality product! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif And I know a amp and sub can't cause the problems I'm experiencing, I use to work for an ICE outlet, so pretty sure I've wired and done it all correct to the best of my ability(which at this moment seems ****). I had a call from the guy who gave me the Demo, and he said he experienced something similar to me when he was installing his Macstealth sub. I will meet up with him and compare notes sometime. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif I have since removed the fuse for the amp, and switched the stereo off, but the problem still persists, so something is definitely wrong with my car /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    #15
  17. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 16, 2004]
    Hi Joe, sorry to hear about your electric troubles!

    As Andy said, I can't see how the sub and amp would cause this. Is it worth going back through the install and double checking all the wiring? You may have already done this but worth a try.

    Best of luck /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    Rich.
    #16
  18. imported_cocain
    Online

    imported_cocain Guest

    [Dec 27, 2004]
    Did you sort the problem out? I had a problem too. Alarm going off on it's own, indicators working when they want to, brake lights not working etc. It is probably your earth wire from your alarm snesor at the back by the brake lights. i installed my mcsub and the car went potty. I took it to the audi dealer and they blamed everything under the sun. They took it all apart and could not find nothing. I took it home and undid the earth wires and dhecked and tightened them all again thoroughly and all problems went. It cost me £400 to get them to investigate and there was nothing wrong.

    hope you find it.
    #17
  19. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,699
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    [Dec 27, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    chokboywonda said:
    Did you sort the problem out? I had a problem too. Alarm going off on it's own, indicators working when they want to, brake lights not working etc. It is probably your earth wire from your alarm snesor at the back by the brake lights. i installed my mcsub and the car went potty. I took it to the audi dealer and they blamed everything under the sun. They took it all apart and could not find nothing. I took it home and undid the earth wires and dhecked and tightened them all again thoroughly and all problems went. It cost me £400 to get them to investigate and there was nothing wrong.

    hope you find it.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Cheers mate, I will look into it, this seems the most probable cause... car is currently parked in the garage, and it's a bit nippy to get any work done /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
    #18
  20. monty77
    Offline

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 29, 2004]
    To those who are having problems with lights etc.. after sub install.

    I had exactly the same tonight. Dash lights went mental whenever I used indicators or brakes, reverse light and rear brake lights didn't work at all. Locked the car and alarm then went off too. Scary stuff! Pulled the panel apart again, checked the new earth location, seemed tight enough so I removed the terminals and filed the paint off around the hole. Replaced with a big metal washer at the rear to give it a larger contact area with the chassis and redid the nut up. Everything back to normal, will take the car out later for a thorough test.

    I'm still wondering if the new earth location is up to the job though, may look into making a new one.

    Cheers,
    Adam
    #19
  21. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 29, 2004]
    Looks like I need to modify my instructions to include this process. It's just really wierd that this has only happened with the last few that have been installed. I've installed about 10 myself and have never had the problem.
    Seems obvious now that moving the earth strap for the rear lights & alarm could be the only possible cause if the earth point is a bit flaky.
    Sorry to everyone who has been driven mad by this issue.
    Cheers, Andy
    #20
  22. monty77
    Offline

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    AndyMac said:
    Looks like I need to modify my instructions to include this process. It's just really wierd that this has only happened with the last few that have been installed. I've installed about 10 myself and have never had the problem.
    Seems obvious now that moving the earth strap for the rear lights & alarm could be the only possible cause if the earth point is a bit flaky.
    Sorry to everyone who has been driven mad by this issue.
    Cheers, Andy

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Nothing wrong with the instructions - just need to emphasise the importance of a good earth (obvious to the experts, but not so for planks like me) at that point. No problems with the car today so I'm pretty sure beefing up my earth point cured the problem.

    Cheers,
    Adam
    #21
  23. synthdood
    Offline

    synthdood Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 30, 2004]
    Does anybody know where the sub is located in the sportback?

    I am taking delivery of my new sportback next week. It's got the standard audio setup with a Concert radio/CD. I didn't really look into the audio setup when I test drove a few cars, but if it is not very good I may want to upgrade at some point. By going through the forums I guess the best upgrades are the andymac sub and better speakers in the front (focal seems to be popular). I want to keep the radio itself because of the integration with the DIS.

    The boot must definately stay clean, so a sub would have to be stealth. If the AnyMac sub would fit in a sportback that would be perfect!.
    #22
  24. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 30, 2004]
    It's apparently in the same location, but I haven't had the chance to experiment on such a new car.
    The setup in the new A3's must be better than the old one, surely?
    #23
  25. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,699
    Likes Received:
    2,008
    [Jan 2, 2005]
    Thanks for the tip chaps, my S3's up and running again. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #24

Share This Page