1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

any gearbox people out there ?!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by FranA3, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,139
    Likes Received:
    244
    hey guys and gals its almost time to get the gearbox sorted on the A3 , now have been browsing ebay and such and there is loads of different gearbox codes for the same engine as in my car ie 1.6 fsi 6 speed , are they interchangeable as in can i put a golf/jetta/touran gearbox in my A3 or do i need one with my gearbox code for my A3?!!! any help greatly thanked!
    #1
  2. s3_sid
    Online

    s3_sid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    31
    i would stick my neck out and say any 1.6fsi on a 8p mk5 platform will fit not a touran or i cannt imagine it , the ratios may be ever so slightly different but not massively ! as long as the bell housing is the same it should be ok and its still a 6 speed

    its the same as in the mk4 golf1.8t 6 speed its a 02m style box, and a tdi 6 speed will fit as its a 02m but it has different ratios and they use them in the high power 1.8ts

    so yeah you will be fine as long as its the right style box and its for a 1.6 fsi and its 6 speed it should work !
    #2
  3. foxymk1
    Offline

    foxymk1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    29
  4. s3_sid
    Online

    s3_sid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    31
    i would imagine it would physically fit but it wouldn't move ! as the gear ratios would be all wrong as you would not have enough torque to rotate the gears !
    #4
  5. foxymk1
    Offline

    foxymk1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    29
    hmm, i put a 1.9td box on a 1.8t engine and it moved very well , leaving most thing for dead at the lights :) i fact it was in the mk1 van in my pic
    #5
  6. s3_sid
    Online

    s3_sid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    31
    yeah but your 1.8t had power this is for a 1.6 fsi engine ...
    #6
  7. foxymk1
    Offline

    foxymk1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    29
  8. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,139
    Likes Received:
    244
    Yeah that's what I though as long as it's the same engine gearbox combo it would work wouldn't it? They are so hard to find though lol think I might be a case of getting mine rebuild possibly lol
    #8

Share This Page