1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any expert headunit installers here?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by willz17, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi guys,

    Basically I have my old pioneer double din headunit which I want to fit in my Audi S3 2007 pre facelift car.
    The car also has the standard Bose system I believe since its got Bose on the speakers.

    What parts would I need? im assuming I would need the following:

    1. Headunit (Got pioneer F930BT)
    2. Fascia kit? (Anyone know where to buy one for my car? 2007 Audi S3)
    3. Aerial adapter (Got)
    4. Stalk adapter (Got)
    5. Fitting cage (is this required?)

    Any help would be greatful guys
    Thanks

    Will
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator TeamMisano Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    Try user NHN, N8. Where you based? X
     
  4. boost-addict

    boost-addict Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    36
    Halfords will.
    You will also need a iso adaptor to power the bose system.
     
  5. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks for the quick replies guys,
    Im from South Wales,
    I will give Halfords a try I guess and also is the iso adapter costly for the bose system?
    Will Halfords sell the iso adapter too? otherwise any links would be appreciated.

    Let me know
    Thanks =]
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,327
    Likes Received:
    1,461
    Given its an 07, then should be DD already, so wont need another cage.

    Whereabouts are you located as I maybe able to fit it for you, PM me some more info if you like :)
     
  7. boost-addict

    boost-addict Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    36
    Pc9-417 if half or full bose
    Pc9-416 if fully amped non bose


    If u give me your reg and if it half/full amped or bose. Etc ill find out
     
  8. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
  9. barnzy

    barnzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have that one here! a full fitting kit for bose!
     
  10. barnzy

    barnzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have the facia, both looms, steering control adaptor, brand new cage! all yours for £30
     
  11. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    think I might order it now!

    Sorry barnzy, I only need the fascia and cage now I got all the looms etc.

    will
     
  12. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Likes Received:
    609
    have you got the canbus adapter? your original stereo is using the canbus wiring and the Pioneer needs an adapter kit to convert it. this is separate from the aerial adapter:
    CTSAD002 CAN-Bus steering control adaptor

    also stay away from autoleads stuff as it needs extra modifications to get it to work with the A3 where as the Connects2 stuff just works.

    I also have a pioneer unit in mine and have installed loads of them too
     
  13. barnzy

    barnzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    yeah thats all the bits i have :)
     
  14. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Likes Received:
    609
    once you get that fascia kit then you will be good to go.
     
  15. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Barnzy, you got the fascia kit, cage, and that canbus cable that ash187 is talking about?
    If yes ill take the lot =]

    just drop me a PM for payment

    thanks
    will
     
  16. barnzy

    barnzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have it all the full kit was removed from my BOSE audi, has everything 2 looms, can bus, steering control adaptor, brand new cage, mint surround.. RRP is £80 yours for £30! bargain
     
  17. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ill take the lot for £30
    thanks mate =]
     
  18. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    So I installed everything tonight, and everything seems fine except the rear speakers don't work? Only the fronts do?
    any ideas? Maybe I got a wrong lead or something?

    will
     
  19. boost-addict

    boost-addict Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    36
    What have you installed and what wires did you use?

    I belive you have to have a remote connected to the correct wire to switch the rear amp on
     
  20. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Bingo, i think that may be the problem, I dont remember connecting a blue wire, i just plugged everything together like you would in a normal car without bose speakers.

    I think i might have to have another look tomorrow now.
    Cheers


    EDIT: I do get static noise coming from the rear speakers though?
     
  21. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Likes Received:
    609
    I thought you had bose? If you do then you need to connect the RCAs in. If not then you will need to connect the up the wires properly.
    The blue remote cable is for the radio amp not the rear speakers as those are connected in the wiring loom.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have come to the conclusion that I might have got the wrong cable, I think I need one of these cables.
    All I hear is static coming from back speakers but front speakers are perfect.

    im assuming I need the pc9-417 for the full Bose/part Bose system?

    This is the one I got my eyes on
    http://www.caraudioni.com/car-audio...udi-a3-a4-active-system-wiring-harness-p-4911

    Cheers
    will
     
  24. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Likes Received:
    609
    Like I first said stay away from the autoleads stuff.... Always more headache with those crappy cables.
    The connects2 cables that I linked above will do the job regardless if you do or don't have Bose! They have the RCA connectors as well as the straight cabled to rear speakers... I have never had an issue with those. Ambles and I have done many many audio installs over the years
     
  25. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22

    thisis the cable right? If yes I will order this in the week, thanks buddy

    will
     
  26. boost-addict

    boost-addict Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    36
    Infact autoleads are better then connects. And even then most are the same wires from the same manafacter.

    I use auto leads all day long and have no problems whats so ever. Same goes for connects

    The numbers i gave you are what came up
    The connects numbers are
    Ct20au08 for half
    Ct20au07 for full.

    What number part code do you have?
     
  27. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,291
    Likes Received:
    609
    Auto leads on the a3 need extra wiring to get the ignition feed to work and have these speaker issues.

    yes as I have said twice already that cable I linked is the one you need to get it all working perfectly. As long as you are wiring it all in properly then you shouldn't have any issues
     
  28. willz17

    willz17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks ash,

    i will be buying this cable next week, I suppose its not to hard to wire up, just plug everything together?
    ill have a play until everything works.

    Thanks again guys
    will
     

Share This Page