1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antenna ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Alex_007, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hi

    Driving along this morning and the radio lost it's signal all of a sudden

    It's the Bose system , no navi.

    55 plate , any ideas what I could check and also does anyone know where the antenna is located?

    Cheers
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. MrLapou

    MrLapou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    121
    It's a box located in the rear heated screen. Could simply be a broken wire or the box had gone 'pop' !
     
    Alex_007 likes this.
  4. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hello and thanks for the reply, so how do I exactly get to it?

    It's actually in the screen or?

    Thanks
     
  5. JJ.Foulds

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    176
    open up the boot, then take off the panel, like 4 screws really easy. mines currently off on mine caus i have the same problem.

    I checked mine, all the wires seem ok at the box so im thinking it might be further down the line where the signal is lost, as initially it was intermittent, i go over a bump radio goes off, bump then on again. lol.
     
    Alex_007 likes this.
  6. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    Lol thanks , I will get the panel off and take a look, is it just a little black box that I'm looking for?


    Mine just packed up altogether
     
  7. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390509035.634790.jpg

    Is this the antenna ?
     
  8. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    All sorted , don't know what I done really, gave the connectors a wiggle and all is good,

    Thanks for the help.
     
  9. JJ.Foulds

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    176
    ooo. i might try that... weirdly i never even tryed! lol.
     
    Alex_007 likes this.
  10. dannyh1991uk

    dannyh1991uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    7
    Mine only really receives BBC Radio 1... But iv got an aftermarket stereo, does this affect anything?
    Pretty sure i was using other stations before i changed the head unit
     
  11. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    I'm not sure to be honest , maybe someone else knows the answer so I'll give this a little bump.
     
  12. Alex_007

    Alex_007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    36
    In the pic a few posts up , I played about with the middle connector and it sorted until I went over a harsh bump and so I wiggled it again and all is good lol
     
  13. TJM22

    TJM22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have the same issue, I get good signal in London on all stations but the moment i get on the M25 it goes to pot, except for BC stations, going to look at it tomorrow in the daylight to see if anything is physically broken.

    I believe the BBC radio stations have better coverage due to them being National stations.
     

Share This Page