1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amp & sub location on a4 cab??????

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by mjsummer, Nov 19, 2011.

  1. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 19, 2011]
    As the title suggests ! I have a 55 plated a4 1.8t and have looked everywhere for them ? I've checked the boot door panels . If someone can just tell me exactly where and how to get to it I'd be smiling for England it's driving me nuts! I've added a new head unit old one cd packed up. Had to wire rear speakers directly to head unit but it really sounds moderate at best ! Needs the amp and the small sub where are they? I can hear its there in the old hu . Help please !!
    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 20, 2011]
    Sorry cant help with there location (cant find them myself) but have you got an adaptor loom for your stereo? i put an afetrmarket system in my last a4 cab and it sounded rubbish until I used the correct loom adaptor..
    #2
  4. simon.m
    Offline

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Nov 20, 2011]
    if its a solon you have then the sub is in there rear parcel self and i think the amp is in the boot on the lift hand side behind the panel
    #3
  5. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 20, 2011]
    If you have Bose in a cab there is an amp right hand sude if the boot behind the trim.
    #4
  6. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
  7. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 20, 2011]
    I'm not sure the amp in the boot lid is for the stereo? I thought thy was only the aerial amp? Also I have a half amped stereo set up the problem is the connections on the back of the DVD stereo has 4 normal stereo out cables eg purple green grey and white I think. Then it has audio red and white connectors for rear right / left front right/left. Also yellow aux etc . So I have the front dash speakers on the grey and white . And now have rear seats speakers direct to purple and green . So the amp connector now only has door speakers on it sounds muffled and really pointless. The sound over all is really disappointing ! Any ideas? Thanks for the replies so far!
    #6
  8. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 20, 2011]
    Did you cab have Bose sound before you started ?
    #7
  9. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    It was non Bose half amplified I think .
    #8
  10. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    There you go

    [​IMG]
    #9
  11. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    I appreciate the picture but I don't actually see where that is I've looked in the boot. It can't see anything ? Checked at the back pulled the carpet back to look . Nothing 😞 any how to guide with pics ??
    #10
  12. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 22, 2011]
    That looks like the schematic for the Bose system in the cabrio, (has the audiopilot gizmo in the headlining) so not too helpful. Are you sure the rear amp isn't bolted to the back of one of the rear speakers?
    #11
  13. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Nov 23, 2011]
    I have Bose, and the amp is behind the right hand trim bolted to the interior metal body shell of the car. You won't see it until you remove the trim. I can't say for sure if non Bose cabs have an amp in the same place or not.
    #12
  14. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2011]
    I gaveup in the end a wired a new amp and cables from the orginal speakers. The problem is now i can't turn the stereo off is on standby. so when the key is removed the hu still has power which cable run to the ignition? I don't want to run a cable to the fuse box as i have no idea on this at all! Also the battery went flat, not sure if this is linked problem or just the end of its life? The amp is connected to the battery (fused wire) and blue ignition wire. Amp only has the green light on when you turn on the stereo. when its on standby the amp has no power or light. It also makes a electical thud noise when it turns itself off. (needs a better ground?) theres a delay when the speaker connected to the hu turn off then about 4 seconds later the amp turns off and the speakers.

    Any ideas ?
    Thanks
    Mj
    #13
  15. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Dec 12, 2011]
    Not sure what "ignition wire" you've connected the "remote on" feed for the amp to. This should be the HU switched live, which is on connector for the pre-outs. How have you got the rear signal feeds from the HU to the amp? Have you used the BLAU RCA adapter (yellow mini ISO to RCA's)? If so you must have disconnected the CANBUS from the HU which is why the HU is not behaving itself. You need a PIE pass thru adapter so you can plug the CANBUS back in as well as the pre-out adapter. You also need to ensure the remote on feed to the amp is connected to the blue flying lead from the BLAU adapter to ensure the amp switches on/off with the HU
    #14
  16. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 12, 2011]
    Sorry not sure on technical names of the cables? I've posted the pic so you can see what came with it. I have one side of the hu with the power on it and front speakers and the other with rca which i have attached to the amp with a blue wire which is only live when the hu is on i've checked this.
    #16
  18. mjsummer
    Offline

    mjsummer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 12, 2011]
    I don't have any cables from the red connector on to anything now?
    #17
  19. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Dec 12, 2011]
    You probably just need to swap the permanent live and ignition on live to the HU (Audi wire them back to front).
    Are you saying the HU turned off fine before you wired in the new amp?
    Doubt you have an ignition on live in the original Audi power harness as 2000+ Audi's moved over to a CANBUS controlled HU. All you will have is permanent live fat red cable with white stripe on the black ISO connector, (yellow wire on the new HU). So you either need to pair this with the ignition on (red on the new HU) and turn the HU on/off manually or wire in a proper switched ignition feed from the fusebox).
    #18

Share This Page