1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMI Retrofit

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by bimilne, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. bimilne
    Offline

    bimilne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2012]
    HI Folks

    Just had an AMI i pod retroft done at an independant garage,

    Probems with the aux socket now not working and the i pod will not play (unit i bought had no instructions as I thought it was only plug and play)

    The i pod just will not allow me to play anything, the CD player and radio still works but not the aux socket or i pod.

    It comes up with componenet connected.

    Is there a software update required for this or anything else I need to know that we have to do to get this to work

    Cheers Hopefully yours

    Brian :((
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    What coding have they actually done?
    #2
  4. bimilne
    Offline

    bimilne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    not sure but will ask the guy tomorrow and get back to you.

    Is there a new code you need to insert to activate the AMI unit ?

    Cheers for reply

    Brian
    #3
  5. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    It would be helpful if we knew which system this was fitted to.

    MMI 2G/3G/Concert/Symphony etc???
    #4
  6. bimilne
    Offline

    bimilne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    Symphony 6 disc CD player with media button and a 3.5mm jack for i pod just now

    Cheers

    Brian
    #5
  7. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    When you connect the iPod does it light up and charge?

    If you press MEDIA on your HU and select source from one of the inner keys what does it bring up?
    #6
  8. bimilne
    Offline

    bimilne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    the i pod lights up and looks like its charges ok. On the i pod it comes up "accessory connected"

    When I press media on the HU it shows the Aux lit up but it does not play the i pod when connected to the 3.5mm jack. The SD card outlet and the CD are not lit up but the CD does play, I havent tried the SD card

    Cheers

    Brian
    #7
  9. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    Bit confused - if iPod connected via ami why is 3.5mm jack involved?
    #8
  10. bimilne
    Offline

    bimilne New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    only said about the 3.5mm jack as it now does not work, since the guy fitted the AMI it has for some reason stopped any i pod/i phone playing through that jack
    #9
  11. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 7, 2012]
    If Ami Etc coded correctly then iPod should definitely just appear under media and just work . Perhaps although AMI physically installed and powered - car needs coding to say Ami present?

    I know what I'm talking about fitting AMI in A3 but I'm sure B8 A4 still needs some coding...
    #10
  12. gregpot2000
    Offline

    gregpot2000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 15, 2012]
    I have AMI in a similar set up to you.....just to add, I don't think you can have the 3.5 Aux as well as the AMI, it's either or, when getting AMI fitted it will disable the 3.5 Aux socket.

    This is what I was told when fitting anyway, my car was an early B8 so didn't have the socket anyway.
    #11
  13. @ndr3w
    Offline

    @ndr3w Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 15, 2012]
    I would be interested in getting my AMI updated for my iPhone. How do I go about this?
    #12
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    When you say updated, doesnt yours work atm?
    #13
  15. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Oct 17, 2012]
    I'm confused - too many queries in one thread!
    #14

Share This Page