1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD S3/Cupra R Chip

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ScottyKemp, Sep 23, 2003.

  1. ScottyKemp
    Offline

    ScottyKemp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    Just been browsing the AMD website, and notice that the chip for the Cupra R is £550 + VAT and the chip for the S3 is £750.

    Anyone jnow why this is ? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    I thought the S3 (210 BHP) was the same engine as the Cupra R (210 BHP), or am i just being dumb ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. Jonmurgie
    Offline

    Jonmurgie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. ScottyKemp
    Offline

    ScottyKemp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    Yeah just browsing for DV's I do like the sound of REVO, have you had yours chipped yet ?
    #3
  5. Jonmurgie
    Offline

    Jonmurgie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    Nope, cause I'm now selling mine....

    But it's quick, easy, cost effective and works very well /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #4
  6. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    As far as I am aware the 210 engine in the Cupra is the same engine that was previously used in the S3. I would contact AmD to double check, maybe it's just a cock up or maybe there's another reason.....Audi drivers are meant to have more money?? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif

    APR also have OBD tuning available, if that's the only reason you are looking at Revo, otherwise there are a hell of a lot of other options available.
    #5
  7. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    Scott,

    Try calling round a few companies, hear what they each have to say and base your opinion on that. From the look of dyno plots i have seen, i like the look of APR... Nice smooth torque that doesnt tail off too much! AmD's map is similar in certain aspects, but is not quite as smooth (from the plots i have seen in the past)

    Rich
    #6
  8. Administrators
    Offline

    Administrators Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,731
    Likes Received:
    338
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Jonmurgie said:
    Nope, cause I'm now selling mine....

    But it's quick, easy, cost effective and works very well /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Forge did try though you told me, and they couldn't do it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif

    I asked Scott why the 4wd stuff is a little dearer, two reasons, first they take a litlle longer to set up on the rollers due to the extra two wheels having to be strapped down /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    Secondly to afford a 4wd rolling road over just a 2wd rolling road we have to recoup the cost to buy and run it, and that shouldn't be passed on to the 2wd customers should it, hence the Cupra R is cheaper.
    #7
  9. Jonmurgie
    Offline

    Jonmurgie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    Not entirely correct there John.... My S3 does not have the normal ECU in... I would have had to go direct to Revo and they could have done it....

    But I'm selling the S3 so I didn't bother as I think it's easier to sell standard /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #8
  10. Administrators
    Offline

    Administrators Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,731
    Likes Received:
    338
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    What about the R32 then??? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
    #9
  11. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Wando said:
    I asked Scott why the 4wd stuff is a little dearer, two reasons, first they take a litlle longer to set up on the rollers due to the extra two wheels having to be strapped down /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    Secondly to afford a 4wd rolling road over just a 2wd rolling road we have to recoup the cost to buy and run it, and that shouldn't be passed on to the 2wd customers should it, hence the Cupra R is cheaper.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I had completely forgotten the Cupra is FWD....sounds reasonable to me then for the price difference.
    #10
  12. ScottyKemp
    Offline

    ScottyKemp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 23, 2003]
    Yep me too, did not even think of the Drive Train, affecting the price !
    #11

Share This Page