1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Chip and Audi Service

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by lpski1, May 5, 2009.

  1. lpski1
    Offline

    lpski1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had my A3 quattro AMD Chipped a while back, very pleased with the result. Since having the car in for a variable service(Audi garage), plugs, filters, brake fluid change, MOT etc, the car feels sluggish when reaching the end of the rev range whereas before it would power all the way.

    Is it possible that they have reset the ECU when resetting the service alarm, is there a 'default' type reset ?

    It's still quick just not to the extent of before.

    Any suggestions appreciated, i'll be giving AMD a call later to see what they think.

    Cheers

    Lee :)
    #1
  2. tobycruse
    Offline

    tobycruse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you told them not to its highly likely they have reflashed you ECU, hence removing the map. You will have to go back to AmD to get it reflashed and to get your map back on. It won't cost that much to do....
    #2
  3. lpski1
    Offline

    lpski1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Tobycruse.

    I have just phoned AmD and they have confirmed what you told me, so its booked in to be remapped. I'll bare that in mind for the next time it has to go in.
    #3
  4. Essflee
    Offline

    Essflee Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    27
    Would an Audi dealer reflash the ecu ?? Surely not... I've had a variable service recently and my cars fine... Sure your maf is ok ??
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Its highly unlikely they would reflash the ecu just for what was done, they wouldnt touch it unless they had specific work on the ecu & faults that would require resetting the module, I would give audi dealer a call 1st before remapping, ask them what they did to the letter to your car, dont tell them whats wrong 1st, ask if the engineer flashed or touched the ecu at all, then get amd to check if it has lost the flash & then you have a case for audi to cough up cause unless you asked them to touch it or do anywork involving the ecu they shouldnt touch it wothout talking to you 1st.

    Make sure you get some specific info from amd regarding this to support your complaint or its worthless.
    #5
  6. mhill
    Offline

    mhill Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cant see why it would cost you anything to have it flashed back on anyway, 10-15 minutes of AMD's time to reflash!
    #6
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I was under the impression that there were sometimes new maps from Audi that are installed when your car is in. These then overwrite your remap. Isn't that what's happened here?
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You mean a new firmware update for the ecu which may then download the file for the car again thus as you say overwriting, its unlikely & they only ever update firmware from what I know on a specific module if you report issues on that said area of the car, otherwise they dont touch things.
    #8
  9. lpski1
    Offline

    lpski1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    AmD mentioned that it might have been a firmware patch to their map. It isnt right and has only felt it since its been in for the service. The fella at AmD said they can check it no problem and put the map back, again no problem, probably an hours labour charge !
    I hadnt asked Audi to do anything with the ECU as there werent any problems with the car at all. I also didnt tell them to leave the ECU alone as i'd had it re-mapped.

    The difference is noticeable and it cant be down to a few filter changes.
    I'll find out a week Saturday when its booked in, couldnt get there before that.:(
    #9
  10. mhill
    Offline

    mhill Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    AMD money grabbing customer service!
    #10
  11. frenchy2475
    Offline

    frenchy2475 Tetbury Audi Parts Man

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    When there is a software update, Audi dealers are ment to inform the customer so they can tell the dealer if it has been remapped. It actually tells the techs this on the bullitins.
    #11
  12. julians
    Offline

    julians Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do AMD use REVO for their remaps?

    If so, can you get hold of someone with a select switch, just plug it in and try and put it into anti theft mode, if it goes into anti theft mode then the revo software is still loaded.
    #12
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    AMD used to do there own maps tbh but since BBT & Mega4 took over I'm not sure, I know Simon whose AMD surrey did amd map on mine after they took over which has been outstanding as always from Simon, top bloke, but also know Shaun & co do revo aswell IIRC.

    The switch is a very good idea, well thought of Julian, this will show if the software is still apparent & prove beyond a doubt if its audi doing things they shouldnt or just in his head, lol
    #13
  14. lpski1
    Offline

    lpski1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took the car down to AmD Thurrock yesterday, explained the problem and one of the mechanics took the car out with a laptop wired up to the ECU. When he returned he explained that the car hadnt lost the map but it wasnt receiving any boost when it wanted it and resulting in driving like a standard 2.0T. He also said that the Diverter Valve(Vacuum Operated Valve) had a fault, and thinking that this had blown/torn. (showed me a couple of VOVs that had broke and explained where/how they break)

    I had the VOV replaced with the Forged one and also had a Piper Cross Panel filter fitted.

    I'm well happy with the result, the car is really quick again and the grin factor has rerturned. :)

    Im glad it wasnt all in my head as well lol.

    Top guys down at AmD. :icon_thumright:
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Thanks for the update post, shows you that AMD arent money grabbing at all, but very professional & showed you exactly the problem, so it was wear & tear & also the stock DV's have always been **** anyway, glad you're happy again, nice one AMD again.
    #15
  16. lpski1
    Offline

    lpski1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The guys at AmD were brilliant and they fitted the valve and panel filter there and then and i didnt have to re-book it in. Which was great as i obviously hadnt booked it in for any other mods.

    I'm sure in my head that the OEM valve was blown whilst Audi had it, and the 20 mile round trip they had in it to take it for an MOT, contributed to it finally giving out. The fact that they hadnt mentioned the fault on it when it had been on their computer, suggests that it must have blew whilst in their care !

    It wont be going back to Audi in Chelmsford again, any servicing requirements will be carried out at AmD in the future.
    #16

Share This Page