1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ambient LED in roof light

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ADi Nuff Valves, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. ADi Nuff Valves
    Offline

    ADi Nuff Valves Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    I've got the roof light without the ambient LED in it currently. I've got the LED part but when I took the cover off to drill I noticed I don't have the markers on the back of where to drill the holes. Any chance anyone could do some measuring for me? :friends:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. kev1000
    Offline

    kev1000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    Just done it there.
    To the center of the holes its 15mm from front and 80mm from sides:thumbsup:
    #2
  4. SPARTAN91
    Offline

    SPARTAN91 RED FIVE STANDING BY Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    99
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    Have made some approxamate measurements for you in mm

    The unit is 180mm wide at this point so the centre is 90mm so the holes are at 80mm and 100mm and are about 14mm in from the front edge.The holes are again about 6mm wide.A measurement are taken from the outside.

    Hope this helps if not the best thing to do is get hold of light unit with them already in but I guess you went down this route first
    Here is a picture of my led light which I managed to buy of ebay.

    LIGHT 002.jpg
    #3
  5. WilkyA3
    Offline

    WilkyA3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 26, 2013]
    I've seen this LED unit, is it just plug and play?
    #4
  6. SPARTAN91
    Offline

    SPARTAN91 RED FIVE STANDING BY Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    99
    [Jan 27, 2013]
    Yep that's right just plug and play on rewiring or coding needed,took me about 10min to swap the unit just
    need to pull the wiring loom and alarm sensor's from old unit and place into new one.

    Also good idear to replace bulbs for led ones which give you a brighter light and with ambient light unit you will gain
    the map lights
    #5
  7. WT007
    Offline

    WT007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2013]
    Can you supply part numbers to complete this please. My car needs this.
    #6
  8. ADi Nuff Valves
    Offline

    ADi Nuff Valves Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 28, 2013]
    Thanks for the measurements guys. Hopefully get this done this week.
    #7
  9. ADi Nuff Valves
    Offline

    ADi Nuff Valves Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    Done!

    Thanks for the measurements. Looking forward to checking it out in the dark. :yahoo:

    IMG_0948.jpg
    #8
  10. adey1
    Offline

    adey1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    need this for my 58 reg convertible what part am i looking for on fleabay
    #9
    Walts2782 likes this.
  11. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    292
    [Feb 9, 2013]
    ADI, give us the part number again, got some spare time in 2 weeks so going to see what i can do with this.

    Trups
    #10
  12. S Liner
    Offline

    S Liner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    #11
  13. discostu49
    Offline

    discostu49 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    Yes that's all you need there is a wee pin the spade attaches to I done this mod very easy
    #12
  14. discostu49
    Offline

    discostu49 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    Wander if I can add another diode to the mix and have 4 holes and more red light coming through ??
    #13
  15. S Liner
    Offline

    S Liner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    Thanks will get it ordered :happy:
    #14
  16. dan77
    Offline

    dan77 dan77

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    Anyone tried adding the red LEDs to the rear interior light?
    #15
  17. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    798
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    No coding needed either guys....its a plug n play item.
    #16
  18. Boon
    Offline

    Boon Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    The A4 B7 (iirc) interior light fits too!

    I done this on mine ages ago

    The outer cover fits just right, however the inside carrier of the parts are different... Just swop out all the switches, bulbs, LEDs and wiring/copper tracks from the A4 version to your existing A3 interior light

    It'll take only about 20 mins, everything goes in the same place

    They was cheaper on the bay when I did mine but may still be... I paid about £10-£15 inc postage for the whole unit!!
    #17
  19. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 21, 2014]
    I did this too

    details
    #18

Share This Page