1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alternative Headunit - Zenec ZE-NC3131D Review

newbieboyy Jan 12, 2014

  1. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    True MattKeating, when I tried to apply the new canbus update it wouldnt allow me to do it, Zenec informed me to disconnect the battery for 30 mins for everything to power down and reset after that it went has planned
     
  2. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    That probably would have solved my problem but now the power button is broken I can't turn it on :(
     
  3. newbieboyy

    newbieboyy Member

    174
    22
    18

    That looks quite good actually! How does it affect the plate lights at night? I might look into getting this!
     
  4. newbieboyy

    newbieboyy Member

    174
    22
    18

    Alternatively contact connects2 - they are the distributor for Zenec in the UK.

    It who is the (rubbish!) supplier of my radio got me to contact to sort out some issues - they were pretty good.

    Here is the site

    http://support.connects2.com/tickets/technical/
     
  5. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    Cheers mate, I did see they were listed but on their site they don't seem to offer most Zenec parts. Will contact them now.
     
  6. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    AK47UK did u get your coilpack ? issue sorted?
     
  7. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    Yeah, nice and easy, cheap too. Cost about £35 as I wanted to pick it up on the day and fitted myself :)

    Also just heard back from connects2, as I expected they said I would have to return to the manufacturer and as (I think) it is out of warranty it would be assessed and quoted. Cost of this is £35 to cover connects2 time and courier both ways, repair cost will be in addition. I think I will just try and repair myself to save time. Very impressed with the speed and content of the support from connects2, I messaged Zenec and CAD on the day of the problem and neither have responded.
     
  8. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    Good to hear, not all doom and gloom then lol
     
  9. newbieboyy

    newbieboyy Member

    174
    22
    18

    Yep Connects2U seem to be pretty good on the support. It took nine weeks for to get a refund from the supplier due to them being awful. Connects2U were the only fast part of the system - they even got annoyed at the supplier for not returning stuff.
     
  10. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    Can someone with a Zenec do me a favour? When you push the Smart Dial button in what happens? I couldn't remember if it mutes the device or something like that.

    Cheers
     
  11. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    I thought it just moved the cursor up and down and then press it to make the selection, I will have a look
     
  12. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    Great cheers. I have worked out that it is an encoder switch so I just need to find one that is the correct size and solder it in. My alternative plan was to swap the switches around but I'd rather not have to desolder another.
     
  13. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    is it not still under warranty?
     
  14. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    Probably not now I have taken it apart and desoldered a component :p I was going to have to send it away to Europe and wait for it to come back so as it was obviously the switch at fault I thought it would be less hassle for me to repair myself :)
     
  15. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    fair enough mate....keep us informed on your success or failure lol
     
  16. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    The hardest part is sourcing the replacement encoder switch as there are no part numbers but I think I have managed to find a compatible part so will pick it up next week.
     
    Jet2004uk likes this.
  17. AK47UK

    AK47UK Active Member

    450
    34
    28
    Fixed it, after a hella lot of searching through schematics I had to go with a part that was almost perfect in every dimension. I fit that today and the button is now working, I then updated the CANBUS again and when told to restart I restarted using the ignition ratehr than the power button and now it turns on and off with ignition. The first time I tried to update the CANBUS there was an error and it aborted, I was worried as it had already deleted the flash but I just restarted and ran the update again, it succeeded.

    For future reference the part I used was an
    which is available from Rapid electronics: http://www.rapidonline.com/electron...-d-plastic-shaft-vertical-with-switch-49-6180

    The base sat a little higher than the original but there was enough
    tolerance between the PCB and the bracket for the PCB to sit a little higher with no issues.
     
  18. Jet2004uk

    Jet2004uk Active Member

    423
    85
    28
    well done mate
     
  19. newbieboyy

    newbieboyy Member

    174
    22
    18
    I fitted a different camera a couple of days ago and have got it all working!

    I went for this one: Boot Handle Camera

    Although slightly more expensive than the one Jet2004uk went for i prefer it for the fact i still retain the numb relate lights (and they look the same!

    I also installed it myself to save costs.
     

Share This Page