1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Altering time for ch/lh lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by pns2007, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. richs2891
    Offline

    richs2891 I cant spell !

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Vagcom for LH & CH

    Open 09 - Cent. Elect. and select Coding, then Long Coding Helper.
    Check Byte 00 Bit 5 and Byte 00 Bit 7.
    Close out and select Do It to write the changes.
    Next under 09 - Cent. Elect. select Adaptation
    Channel 01 is the number of seconds you want the coming home to be active - 0 to 120.
    Channel 02 is the number of seconds you want the leaving home to be active - 0 to 120.

    Borrowed from here http://audiretrofit.quinlivan.net/

    Richard
    #41
  2. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks Richard.

    Funny enough Ive been on that site and not seen it before, that retro fit must be fairly new on there then,

    Cheers buddy
    #42
  3. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    It was on there a while ago but I think Marc had some problems with bandwidth so took some things off.
    #43
  4. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Horaaaaayyyyy :racer:

    Done it and it works. The function now appears on the DIS and I can controll it from there.

    Thanks very much guys :salute: easy when you know how !!!!

    Neil

    :beerchug:
    #44
  5. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Awesome mate, glad it's sorted. So was it that you didn't have both enabled?
    #45
  6. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Strange really cause I enabled the ch lights with bit7, clicked on 'do it' but the DIS menu didn't show the lights. I then went into adaptation and altered the time to 10 seconds, saved this and when I went back into the DIS menu I had ch lights shown with the ability to alter the time in the menu.

    Went back into central elect and checked the box at bit 5 came out and the DIS still only displayed ch lights. Changed the time on this in adaptation, saved it and hey preston both are now in the DIS menu.

    I am only able to change the time of the ch lights through DIS, the lh option can only be changed to off or on.

    Don't know if I did anything wrong but altering the time and saving it seemed to enable it in the DIS menu!
    #46
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Hmm that's weird yes! I haven't touched the setting in adaptation whatsoever.

    At least it's sorted
    #47
  8. boggysv
    Offline

    boggysv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all...

    Just a noob question. I have a 08 car (i think) that was assembled between december 07 and january 08. It does have the needle sweep, but I did not opt for the rain and light package.

    If I perform the wire trick and some vag-com wizardy...can I get the CH/LH lights? will they light up everytime I come to the car, or only when it's dark?

    (there's a light sensor in the instrument cluster, will the CH/LH lights be able to use that?)
    #48
  9. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    It will work yes but you don't need to do the wire trick, just coding will get it enabled.

    Yes it'll work everytime no matter what time of day.
    #49
  10. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Leon/ Richard

    Just come back from the shops and have noticed that since getting the ch/lh lights to work that my headlights have now become my DRL's.

    I've gone through the menus and am pretty sure I've not changed anything other than to Scandanavia lights.

    Are yours the same now or does something else need changing.

    Confused!!! and thanks again for your help

    Neil
    #50
  11. richs2891
    Offline

    richs2891 I cant spell !

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    No thats very odd mine does not do that - my DRL's are set to Scandinavian mode as well.
    Are you sure you just not confusing the two of them as the DRL can seem quite bright (especially with the extra bright bulbs in !), and they are on all the time.
    Your car does have separate DRL's does it ? I know in Vag com can set the head lights to act as DRL's (for car without separate DRL's).

    Do the main lights (CH /LH uses the headlights), go out when open the door etc (before start the car )?

    Try disabling the CH/LH - check the headlights against a wall (to recognise the difference) and then turn them off and turn on the DRL's to see the difference. (its night and day if have xenon’s). Then re enable CH/LH.

    Another theory is have you left the earth wire from block e pin 12 permantly connected or not - Mine is permantly connected

    Richard
    #51
  12. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Neil has LED DRLs so he can't confuse them Richard.

    The only way on mine to set headlights as DRL is by changing what type of headlight I have.

    There's a setting in long coding where there is a drop down box where you select what type of lights. I think they're Halogen, Xenon, Bi-xenon or something like that. Anyway I found that if I changed that setting to halogens everything woul still work the same but the DRL would be the dipped beam.
    #52
  13. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Mine have LED's as Leon has mentioned

    Yes

    PHP:
    Another theory is have you left the earth wire from block e pin 12 permantly connected or not Mine is permantly connected
    I didn't have to do this. I think with the facelift A3 this is no longer applicable.

    If I remember rightly, mine was on halogen. Mine DRL's are now the 'dipped beam'. I'll have to check later to see if there is another option. My wifes gone out in the car at the moment - she's probably lit up like a christmas tree

    Thanks Guys
    #53
  14. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ah so you do actually have Halogens. There's more than one option for halogen though I'm sure. One with DRL and one without I think.
    #54
  15. richs2891
    Offline

    richs2891 I cant spell !

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I think I noticed that there are few for the different types of headlights. LOL Audi do like to make it complicated !

    Your probably right in the fact that I dont need the wire connected to earth all the time, there was some confusion (when how to do the LH/CH lights came out) some cars needed it, some didnt but to save problems I left mine connected !

    Richard
    #55
  16. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Firstly, I apologise for the length of time this is taking, anyway .....


    I have taken two screen prints
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    First of all, do you think that in the first slide Bit 5 shows assistance driving light as well as leaving home light - does yours show assistance light

    and, the second slide shows the lght options. It was set as Halogen. There is LED at the bottom of the list and when I select this the dipped beam and fog lights become the DRL.

    Are either of you the wiser?

    Cheers lads

    Neil
    #56
  17. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yours is the same as mine mate. I have the same things enabled on mine plus footwell.

    I have had a look at mine and was going to say that there's only one option for Halogen not 2 like I thought. It must be something else that's causing this.

    Last year I fitted LHD halogens to my car so it was legal in germany. When I fitted them I changed byte 21 to halogen. When I switched on the DRLs the dipped beam lit. If you have the same setting on byte 21 then there must be something else that tells the LEDs to light and not dipped.

    Can I just check, you enabled CH & LH a week or so ago and all was ok but since you have got the options in the DIS the DRL has now moved to your dipped beam?

    If so, I really don't know!! Try setting it to Bi-xenon with LED DRL and see what happens.
    #57
  18. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Its happened since I ticked the 'assistance driving light_leaving home active'. When I de-select this the DRL's are ok.

    Does yours show 'assistance driving light' or just 'leaving home active'

    I've e-mailed bruce at ross tech for some help.

    Thanks anyway
    #58
  19. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Mine says assistance too yeah mate
    #59
  20. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks Leon, I'll have another look tomorrow.

    If anyone else wishes to contribute I will be very grateful.

    :beerchug:
    #60
  21. Sebastian
    Offline

    Sebastian Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Step #1: Post a COMPLETE Diagnostic Protocol (VCDS > Auto-Scan) from your vehicle.
    Step #2: Make sure to state your original values prior to your modifications.
    Step #3: Try to sum up your problems/requests in short words, I tried to read this thread but sorta lost track of what exactly it is you want after a couple of posts... :)
    #61
  22. boggysv
    Offline

    boggysv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0

    Alright then.

    Personally I wouldnt want it to light up during the day. Can imagine lots of questions like" Why in the world would your car light up in broad daylight? " being asked.
    #62
  23. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    15
    Boggysv
    I park on an un-lit car park at work and find this quite useful in the mornings and evenings (this time of year) so I don't get my italian leather dirty (well my hush puppies anyway!). It lights up the carpark so I can see where I'm putting my feet.

    The ability to control it via the DIS is good so that its easier to turn on and off should I be out and about during the day or during the summer etc.

    I therefore find it quite useful and don't mind it being on in daylight (small price to pay imho)

    Sebastian, can I e-mail you directly with the files as they are quite long to post on here? (sebastian@ross-tech.com)

    There was sort of two questions originally which have now developed into a third.

    1st question was how to alter the time of ch/lh lights (now sorted
    2nd question was how to enable this in DIS (now sorted)
    which has led to the third question, that when I now check bit 5 in 09 central elect (as per my screen shot) the DRL led lights change to headlights. I want my led;s to remain as the DRL's not my headlights.

    I will do a scan later and e-mail the files later (if thats ok)

    Cheers guys
    #63
  24. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I have never been asked about why my lights come on. Plus I drive with my headlights on most of the time at this time of year anyway.

    As Neil says, it's a small price to pay, and in the summer i'll just turn the function off.
    #64
  25. richs2891
    Offline

    richs2891 I cant spell !

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    I drive with the DRL on all the time (rear lights are active as well), Will probably turn the rears off in Summer time. Had two people comment about the LH/CH lights both said that they wished their cars did that as thought it was very good idea ! As they are only one for 15 sec - will just probably leave it set come summer time

    Richard
    #65
  26. Sebastian
    Offline

    Sebastian Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure you can email those files.
    #66
  27. jsosic
    Offline

    jsosic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you very very much! This solved my problems. I turned CH lights on (byte00 bit7), and entered Channel01 adaptation, and couldn't turn them off anymore... And I have LED DRL with BiXenons (facelift MY09 with old central electrics). So I was afraid that I will have to live with this, and I don't want my Xenons to burn up because of constant powering on on every unlock of the car :( But there was no way to turn them back off, I coded CE like 10 times and nothing. Then I came across this tread.

    So what did I do?

    In the long coding helper of 09 Central Electrics module, I turned on these 3 options:
    Byte 00 Bit 5 Assistance Driving Light & Leaving Home
    Byte 00 Bit 7 Coming-Home
    Byte 23 Bit 0 Advanced Comfort Menu Active

    Recoded 09-central electrics, and then entered Adapatation, and changed both channel 01 and channel 02 from 30 to 29 and saved. And now I have both CH and LH in my DIS!!! :D So I turned off Leaving home through DIS, and dialed back down to zero CH and now I turned them both off so I will save my Xenons and ballasts, but I can turn them on if I need them through DIS! GREAT!

    Let's show off :D
    #67

Share This Page