1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ALPINE X100 - Tuner signal POOR

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by audi18tdan, Aug 2, 2008.

  1. audi18tdan
    Offline

    audi18tdan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2008]
    Just bought ALPINE X100 and the tuner (radio) signal is soo poor on it more so in built up areas.

    I had no problem with my fatcory HU.

    Any ideas or anyone else got this with this HU?

    btw the car's areial cable had another little connector which had no where to plug into on the new HU, any ideas what this is for?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 30, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 2, 2008]
    #2
  4. audi18tdan
    Offline

    audi18tdan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2008]
    #3
  5. audi18tdan
    Offline

    audi18tdan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2008]
    Got this adapter but the extra blue wire connector is different to audit wire so won't interconnect.

    Now am i thinking right or does this need to connect somewhere else?

    Your help will be much apreciated
    #4
  6. PVO_Dave
    Offline

    PVO_Dave Back in a Quattro :)

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2008]
    Use the 'remote' wire from your H/U (the same one that would turn on a power amp - normally blue with a white stripe)

    HTH
    Dave.
    #5
  7. audi18tdan
    Offline

    audi18tdan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2008]
    Right after a little time of having a solution i ended up with a flat battery.

    Basically i can't use the remote amp wire as if you reliase this is already in use with the current factory fitted AMP which powers the rear sub and speakers so i used the red wire which worked but then gave me a flat battery as it must allways be on.

    So i need to ask your opinion on how i could get round this and what other people have done?
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 6, 2008]
    Just piggyback it onto the remote amp wire, or worst case piggyback it onto the ignition on feed to the HU not the permanent live (which, as you know, will flatten your battery). Ignition on is the yellow wire with red stripe.
    #7
  9. audi18tdan
    Offline

    audi18tdan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2008]
    Yeah i was thinking of using that option but need to find different connector to do that.
    Btw how can i have my HU turn off when pulling eye out or turning ignition off as i have to turn it off every time?

    Cheers
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 6, 2008]
    Depends on the age of your car. If it's 2000 or earlier then you will have an "ignition on" feed already going to the HU, but you'll need to swap the positions on the connector as Audi wire perm live and ignition on live the wrong way round. If it's newer then you won't have an ignition on feed at all at the HU, so you'll need to run a wire from the Radio (S-Kont) fuse (if you have one) and use this as the ignition on feed (red wire on the HU). This will then switch the HU on when you turn the ignition on and switch it off when you pull the keys out.
    #9
  11. audi18tdan
    Offline

    audi18tdan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 6, 2008]
    it's 2002.

    Sounds like alot of hassle when i can just turn it off manually.
    I was just being lazy.

    Cheers anyway
    #10
  12. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 6, 2008]
    Yes, 10 minutes of pure hassle!
    #11

Share This Page