1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alpine HU into 99 A3

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by btmotorsport, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. btmotorsport

    btmotorsport Soon be christmas!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    I want to fit an alpine HU into my 99 A3. I don't think I have a bose stereo but I'm not sure. I do have the standard sub and a concert HU. Can anyone tell me how to identify if i have a bose system and whats involved in fitting the alpine HU.

    Many thanks!!!!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. alijames

    alijames Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the sub in the boot. 1x 6.5" speaker = non Bose, 2x 4" speaker = Bose.

    To fir the Alpine, you will need a fascia adaptor and a wiring adaptor. The wiring adaptor type will depend on whether you have Bose or non-Bose.

    This one http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/1569.html for non-Bose and this one http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/1570.html for Bose (assuming your new HU has RCA outputs, which all new Alpines should)

    They also do the fascia adaptor, which should be http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/1651.html for a '99 A3.

    Don't think I've missed anything, but AndyMac will I'm sure correct me if I'm wrong anywhere.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. btmotorsport

    btmotorsport Soon be christmas!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    thank you very much, that's just what i needed to know!!!!
     
  5. btmotorsport

    btmotorsport Soon be christmas!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think I've cocked this up, due to a number of constraints I had to get the cable from halfrauds, big mistake!!! They have given me a pc9-404 but I don't think it's right. Everything works but the rears and sub don't seem to do a great deal. There is sound coming out of them just not enough. I have connected the switch for the amp remote but still nothing. Any ideas or is it just the wrong lead???


    Cheers!!
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    That is the right adapter. You will have to fade to rear quite a bit to balance the sound as you now have 2 x 50w+ going to the fronts while the amped rears have only 2 x20w and the sub 1 x 50w which is way too underpowered.
     
  7. btmotorsport

    btmotorsport Soon be christmas!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    Balls, why is nothing ever simple?!!! Thanks for the reply :) what's the best/easiest way to get the most from what i've got, or upgrade? Could i just run some cable to the rears for now then upgrade the sub in the future?
     
    #6 btmotorsport, Dec 20, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes rewiring the rears is the best option, you can pick up the feeds to the rears from the red sub connector in the rear cubbyhole or wire them all the way back to the actual speakers, depends if you really want to take the rear speakers cards off or not.
    Personally I'd leave it as it is until you upgrade the sub. The sound from the rears will not really be improved by bypassing the rear amp, as you'll be losing the sub at the same time. The only way to dramatically improve the sound in the A3 is to upgrade the sub.
     
  9. btmotorsport

    btmotorsport Soon be christmas!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cool, cheers for the info! Are you still doing the custom subs?
     
  10. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes still available at all good Stealth sub outlets
     

Share This Page