1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alpine HU finally installed ... couple of quick qs

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by monty77, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nearly there now, just need to start putting panels back on.

    Couple of quick questions:

    1) Where can I get a feed for the dimmer input on the alpine HU? Put a multimiter on the terminal I thought was it (going by the sticker on top of the radio and it was perm live??)

    2) Where can I get an adapter for the Audi radio cable, halfords didn't have one /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Cheers,
    Adam
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. richy

    richy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    haldford are [censored].. simple..

    goto any other ice dealer.. or get one from autoleads............

    the dimmer... humm.. unsure... as i dont dim mine.. whats the point? i have my lights on full anyways..
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    The dimmer feed should be the wire going to the pin denoted as a circle with little legs coming off it (like a sun), next to the ground pin IIRC.
    Caraudiodirect have the antenna amps
    antenna amp
     
  5. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    AndyMac said:
    The dimmer feed should be the wire going to the pin denoted as a circle with little legs coming off it (like a sun), next to the ground pin IIRC.
    Caraudiodirect have the antenna amps
    antenna amp

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thanks Andy, that was the pin I tested. Red/white iirc - was perm 12v ?!?! Strange, I'm sure I can take a tap off the cigarette lighter illumination or something else though.

    Cheers,
    Adam
     
  6. simfin

    simfin New Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem on my Golf mk5 install. I think the issue with using the cigarette lighter as a light source is that, as you dim the dash lights, using the dimmer,then this also dimms light on the 'lighter' - this will take it below 12volt, at which some point the HU will think the lights have been turned off, and brighten up the HU display.
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Red with a white stripe is normally "ignition on" feed (for those of us lucky enough to have it).
     
  8. ascaudio

    ascaudio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    radio adaptors i have loads of matey gimmie ya address and ill post ya one if ya like
     
  9. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    ascaudio said:
    radio adaptors i have loads of matey gimmie ya address and ill post ya one if ya like

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Ah nuts, bought one now. But thanks for the generous offer! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    Cheers,
    Adam
     
  10. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    simfin said:
    I have the same problem on my Golf mk5 install. I think the issue with using the cigarette lighter as a light source is that, as you dim the dash lights, using the dimmer,then this also dimms light on the 'lighter' - this will take it below 12volt, at which some point the HU will think the lights have been turned off, and brighten up the HU display.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Good point, didn't think of that. Time to hunt through the fusebox for a fuse that's 12v when the lights are switched on!

    Cheers,
    Adam
     
  11. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I finally got everything installed.... Autoleads FP1800 facia adapter fits a treat and looks OEM - think it's listed as being for a Seat Leon ?!

    [​IMG]

    Cheers all!
    Adam
     

Share This Page