1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

alarma wire?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mo-S3, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2005]
    IM trying to install an additional warning led but need to find the wore form the alram that goes live when switched on.
    Can anyone with access to wiring diagrams or has done it before point me in the right directon. Ideally would like the wire situated near the passenger footwell area.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2005]
    I have a pdf I can email you if you pm me an address.

    Neil.
    #2
  4. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 31, 2005]
    This should help as I did the same:

    See here
    #3
  5. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2005]
    Mark, quick question for yo, you mentioned taht you were wiring in some extra clifford leds. Where did you finally tap off the connections for it?
    I have found the 2 wires form the leds coming from the door leds but if i tap off them the new led doesnt work and the door ones stop working.

    What do i need to do?

    Cheers
    #5
  7. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2005]
    Check the bias of the LED you have added

    From the PDF you have, on the last page, the new LEDs positive connection should be
    to the Red/Black wire and negative on the Brown/Red wire.

    Neil.
    #6
  8. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 1, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Mark, quick question for yo, you mentioned taht you were wiring in some extra clifford leds. Where did you finally tap off the connections for it?
    I have found the 2 wires form the leds coming from the door leds but if i tap off them the new led doesnt work and the door ones stop working.

    What do i need to do?

    Cheers

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sound like you have wired them the wrong way round then as the brown and red wire is a negative wire. So you need to wire this to the negative wire on new LED, and then wire the postive to a constant positive.

    What are you wiring in anyway?
    #7
  9. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 4, 2005]
    Fitting a clifford alarm badge, it doesnt work when i connec the neg of the clifford to the neg wire of the door led wire with the pos to a constant feed. Ive tried a mormal 12v led and it works fine on this setup,
    Did your clifford come with a small black box?
    #8
  10. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 4, 2005]
    I have since removed the Clifford LED fitted to my original Audi alarm as I have had a Clifford Concept 650 installed, but there was no "Black box" with the original LED.

    Daft question have you armed the alarm with the wires conneceted? As it will only work with the alarm armed.
    #9
  11. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2005]
    yep, the alarm is armed at the time.
    #10
  12. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Aug 5, 2005]
    Do your existing LEDs still work after connecting the new ones?
    #11
  13. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Do your existing LEDs still work after connecting the new ones?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Good question.
    #12
  14. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2005]
    If i connect a normal 12v led then yes they do but as soon as the clifford one is connected then they both go off.
    i suspect that it may be trying to draw too much current.
    A relay maybe??
    #13
  15. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Aug 5, 2005]
    Does the Clifford LED actually work by itself?
    #14
  16. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2005]
    Yep it works happily when connected to a 12v supply
    #15
  17. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2005]
    I would say it's something to do with this "black box" connected to the device. Probably ups the voltages or similar. Therefore disturbing the LEDs on the alarm as they may work at a different voltage.

    When I connected mine up I soldered a 2V resitor into the circuit. As the LED was a 2V one.
    #16
  18. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2005]
    me thinks so too, i will check some voltages pre and aft over the weekend.
    thanks for the your help so far
    #17
  19. imported_VaulterTim
    Online

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Aug 5, 2005]
    If the original LED still works then simply connect the supply that arms the current LED to the positive supply (anode) of the Clifford LED and connect the other end of it (cathode) to earth.

    Job done.
    #18

Share This Page