1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

alarm siren

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by 205man, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    does anyone know what each of the 3 wires does that connect into the rear alarm siren of a 99 saloon?, my siren has died from the dreaded leaking internal batteries and has damaged the circuit board to much to repair,

    but i got hold of a repalcement siren from a mate, it doesnt have battery backup but im not to worried about that at the mo is just need to know which wires do what........it may not work but id like to give it ago if someone can tell which wire is which

    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    and i bet itll still come up with "alarm siren - no communication" and wont work.

    just fit a proper siren? there not expencive?
    #2
  4. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    £80 is pretty expensive
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,846
    Likes Received:
    350
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    i got one for about 20 from an A8 that was only a few years old on ebay.

    The wires are, 12v live, ground, data.

    Its not just a dumb siren, the siern and the alarm talk to each other over the data wire.
    #4
  6. murran
    Offline

    murran Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    not as expencive as they could be.

    get a good second hand one? cut it open round the sealed join and replace the 32p battery and glue gun it back together for peace of mind?
    #5
  7. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 4, 2010]
    replace the battery with what tho as the orignal battery manafucture has gone bust,

    aragon, do you have a part number for the a8 one? as they seem to come up for sale more often and didnt know if there were different ones
    #6
  8. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 5, 2010]
    not worth trying to replace the battery, I tried matching the original batteries with 4 nicad's. didnt work, charged but I still threw a code.

    sits under my desk now, problem solved
    #7
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,846
    Likes Received:
    350
    [Dec 5, 2010]
    #8

Share This Page