1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

alarm problem on 1998 a6 2.8 se

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by highlander1975, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. highlander1975

    highlander1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, hope someone can help, today the alarm was sounding on the car, i went outside to find all the windows down the remote's were un-responsive i unlocked the drivers door the alarm was still sounding and the interior lights did not come on , i started the engine shut the windows but the alarm was still sounding i drove up the road the alarm stopped after a while but, its acting like the alarm is still armed the led's on the door still flash and i cannot unlock any other doors, i have un plugged one of the wires on the alarm horn so that only the hazards are on when i open the door.
    Any idea's or is it an expensive trip to audi?
    thanks
    jason
    P.S. as i was driving the dash thort the doors were open and the boot this was random.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. TYphoon GB

    TYphoon GB Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    26
  4. highlander1975

    highlander1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks TYphoon i will take the unit out and have a look, it makes sence, going to search the net now to find out where its located on the A6
    cheers
    jason
     
  5. wesmaster

    wesmaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    18
    On the C5 model, the siren is in the boot by o/s lamp cluster, and the locking control unit/alarm is under passenger carpet, very prone to water ingress.
     
  6. highlander1975

    highlander1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks wesmaster will pull the carpet up and pull the unit out.
    cheers
    jason
     
  7. highlander1975

    highlander1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your help, the carpet was wet when i pulled it up!, opened the box that holds the module and it was filled up with water. removed the module opened it up gave the pcb a isopronyl bath cleaned all the ic's etc with a brush dryed it all, re-fitted to car and everything works as it should except the remote on the keys dont work.
    is there a way of reprogramming them? if not a least the rest is all working!.
    thanks again
    jason
     
  8. wesmaster

    wesmaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    18
    You can reprogram with VCDS, very easy or you can search the net for the procedure to re sync the remotes. Had it a few weeks ago that had to replace control unit because couldnt program remotes in, new unit fitted programmed fine. old one was also waterlogged!
    Good luck.
     

Share This Page