1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

aircon

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by simon.m, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    so got a good one guys my aircon has never worked from the time i got the car and iv now found why.
    its Actuating Motor for Temperature Flap: Left Blocked or No Voltage - Intermittent
    part number 8E0 820 043 H
    so any one no where this is so i can give it a slap as audi want £700 plus for it ummm yeah for that ill open the windows
    :faint:
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    Simon I got your PM mate, I will look into it but its probably going to be tonight until I find time to be honest.

    Have you tried a search in the dedicated aircon forum?

    Either that or pop the glovebox out and you can see most of the motor flaps behind the climate control panel, then move the temp up and down and see which flap moves (or doesn't')! I will look on elsa/etka later anyway.
     
    #2 quattrojames, Apr 3, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  4. AudiLeon

    AudiLeon Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    104
    I had this problem last week, mine was on the drivers side, but take off the glovebox and you'll see the motor with 3 screws holding it to the unit. I took mine off manually moved the flap and tried to force move the motor. Put it back on, and it works beautifully now.
     
  5. Turkster

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    47
    thats a bit rough for a motor! what colour is it?
     
  6. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    thats a good ? as there is some thing like 4 i think lol may just have to check them all
    thanks james dont rush mate just thought if you have five mins spear as you no your way around elsawin
    more than me i just keep looking in the wrong folders lol
     
    #5 simon.m, Apr 3, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2010
  7. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    According to Etka, the motor should be brown on a rhd car. The part number you have posted is different to this Simon, is that number for the motor or the mechanism or the flap? There seems to be quite a variation in part numbers and motors here, but have a look and see what you think.

    The motor is shown as no. 7 in the below pic:

    [​IMG]

    This is a different view, of the side of the air conditioner unit, which I believe is if you are looking from the drivers side footwell.

    [​IMG]

    The third pic shows the mechanism between the flaps, it appears to be only accessible by removing the heat exchanger......

    [​IMG]
     
  8. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    so i had a look and think i found the right motor took it off had a play and it now moves but still no aircon so
    when i push the eco button and the light goes off should my main enginge fan kick in with the compressor as its not.
    i have a nasty feeling the compressor is not kicking in any one no how to check it.
     
  9. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    The engine radiator fan and the compressor have nothing to do with each other.

    IF the compressor is working then you should detect a slight drop in revs when it kicks in, and maybe hear a click if you're lucky. I take it then that the ECON light isn't on all the time? Was it before you free'd up the motor?

    Remember that any kind of aircon problem may lead to the compressor isolating itself to prevent it from getting damaged.
     
  10. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    oh right ok just my old vaxhal when you put air con on it kicked in with a fan and you knew it was on lol
    my econ light was on some times and some times not now i can turn on and off
     
  11. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    oh and i cant see the revs drop at all
     
  12. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    Put the temp to LO, fan to MAX, close the doors and let it blow for ten mins. You should know from the air temp whether its working or not.
     
  13. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    im not sure i would no as its cold out any way lol but i was just out andhad my misses turn it on and off a few times
    with my head under the car yes yes i no not to safe but took my chances all the same and i can not hear
    it clicking at all
     
  14. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    You had it scanned with VAGcom did you? I would have thought that if the compressor wasn't working it would have shown up then?
     
  15. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    wellllllllllllllll i would have thought that and i did scan it my self with vag-com 409 and it just showed the one fault mate
    hey where did you get your etka i had some one at tpsemail me the motor i needed and it come with that.
    also thanks for your time james big help mate if your ever down this way give me a beep and ill buy you a beer.
    or refurb your wheels with a big discont lol
     
  16. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    Lol my wheels do need doing.....

    Where are you then?

    I bought my Etka off ebay, there's various different versions on there.
     
  17. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    im in kent mate right on the sea side

    ill have to look on ebay for that too lol
    ill get in truble as i keep buying stuff from there now iv got my new car lol
     
  18. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,043
    Likes Received:
    562
    You wait till you're trying to get things like wheels delivered without anyone noticing!
     
  19. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    that ok for me ill buy them and say its to refurb and sell on oh hold on hunny dont you think they look good on my
    car hmmmm maybe ill keep them and sell mine lol got it all worked out
     
  20. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    so i think i may have fixed the first problem and did a scan today and it shows this now but i put a new on on it 4mths ago wtf

    High Pressure Sensor (G65)
    07-10 - Signal too Low - Intermittent
     

Share This Page