1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aircon Re-gassing

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by doeboy, May 4, 2006.

  1. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2006]
    Mine's not Very cold, any ideas on avg prices and in particular any decent, cheap garages in Birmingham that can re-gas?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 4, 2006]
    Go to an aircon specialist (don't go to Audi). Should be around £70.
    #2
  4. CraigM
    Offline

    CraigM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    The last time I was in Halfords I noticed they were selling cans for topping up aircon systems - think they were about £25.
    #3
  5. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    I'm not sure it needs doing to be honest. After a few mins it's pretty cold, not ice cold but still quite cold. I'm trying to work out whether that’s as cold as it should be.

    I had 2 courtesy cars 2 years back, a pug 206 first, about 8 months old, and a brand new fiesta. The 206 aircon was ice cold but the fiesta was similar to my A4 obviously the colder the quicker it climatises to your conditions.

    Anyone remember when they had their Audi regassed and how cold it was then and now?
    #4
  6. hop2407
    Offline

    hop2407 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    Audi Aircon or Climate is not ICE cold..... My wife had a Ford Mondeo and now a Focus and to be honest, they are colder than the Audi.... however, it should certainly feel cold when it's on - try having the blower on for normal cold air for a few mins, then switch on the A/C and there should be a noticeable difference.....

    Failing that, have a pressure test done with a reputable A/C specialist...
    #5
  7. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    I think you've answered my question, thanks.
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 5, 2006]
    They do actually need regular servicing as anything goes faulty it gets expensive. Maybe worth getting an aircon guy to service it anyway.
    #7
  9. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    Once i've found one that is!
    #8
  10. DIPS_A4
    Offline

    DIPS_A4 SEAT LEON CUPRA R (225)

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    i had mine done by autotronics in leicester cost me £40 for a re-gas now its ice cold before i got it done it wasnt that cold nows it perfect some times i gotto put the econ button to make it go a lil warmer. let me know if u want the number.
    #9
  11. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    Ok, found these guys, www.coolcaraircon.co.uk

    £49 for recharge, £59 for service and recharge.

    I'll take a look at the current fluid level, if it's correct and has not lost any then will a service really be benificial? I need to check the service book too when i'm home tonight.
    #10
  12. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes Received:
    865
    [May 5, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    i had mine done by autotronics in leicester cost me £40 for a re-gas now its ice cold before i got it done it wasnt that cold nows it perfect some times i gotto put the econ button to make it go a lil warmer. let me know if u want the number.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    What temp are you setting it at? Surely, if you're finding it a bit too cold, you should raise the temperature setting a bit, not switch it off!

    Don't forget, you're not trying to freeze-dry yourself. The idea is to set it at a comfortable temperature, say 20 or 21 degrees, and then leave it to its own devices.
    #11
  13. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    i'm not mechanically minded guys.

    Having read various info from forementioned website i thought i'd check the coolant level, however i see no specific tank, however i do see the coolant tank for the radiator which is just a mil under the min fill marker.

    Does this tank supply the Climate system also?
    #12
  14. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 5, 2006]
    The aircon relies on a pressurised system filled with Freon gas (like your fridge) I don't think it's something you can top up yourself or even check.
    #13
  15. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    hm...so i'm non the wiser then, i'll just pay the £59 for service and topup and have peace of mind.
    #14
  16. joost
    Offline

    joost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2006]
    Mine cost £75 from stealers with full leak/electrical check and re-gas
    #15
  17. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes Received:
    865
    [May 5, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    i'm not mechanically minded guys.

    Having read various info from forementioned website i thought i'd check the coolant level, however i see no specific tank, however i do see the coolant tank for the radiator which is just a mil under the min fill marker.

    Does this tank supply the Climate system also?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The coolant is the water system that cools the engine. It's nothing to do with the Climate Control.
    #16
  18. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2006]
    Glad we cleared that up then! So where is the Climate harware behind the dash?
    #17
  19. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 6, 2006]
    There's 3 main components to the system.
    The heat exchanger is buried behind the passenger airbag up high in the dash, then you have the pump and then the dryer which are in the engine bay
    #18
  20. JayB5UK
    Offline

    JayB5UK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2006]
    When the air-con is serviced they drain / release all the old gas and muck, then re-fill the gas with a quantity of oil also, to keep all the seals lubed to stop them cracking and hardening too. That sounds like a good price, have heard of people charging up to £100 down here!
    #19

Share This Page