1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aircon not working...G65 Sensor?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by gkf9, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2012]
    I've only just noticed that my aircon as stopped working, it's stuck on the economy light. After searching this forum there seems to be alot of the sensors that fail, is it worth taking a punt and buying a new sensor without looking for faults on Vag.com? ( I haven't got it and don't want to pay the garage if I can help it)

    Dont want to pay for a re-gas incase there is a leak which will turn out to be a waste of money. I've read the sensor can be changed without emptying the system. So for £40 odd for the part might be worth a try?

    Anyone else been in the same situation where it was the sensor?

    TIA
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Apr 30, 2012]
    For 40 quid you could prob get a scan somewhere and find out for sure what it is rather then having a stab in the dark
    #2
  4. Ian-83
    Offline

    Ian-83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 30, 2012]
    I would advise to get it diagnosed properly. Though you can have a fault showing for the G65 sensor reading low pressure which is actually caused due to no gas in the system.
    #3
  5. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2012]
    Ok thanks for the replies, think I will take your advise and get it checked out then.
    #4
  6. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Apr 30, 2012]
    Have a check of the vcds location map and see if there is anyone close by
    #5
  7. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2012]

    Theres a VW garage next to my works, might get them to check it out.
    #6
  8. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 2, 2012]
    Ok so I ended up taking my car to an Indy garage and it's been regassed, said there was still pressure in the system, so they have emptied it and refilled, and it's still not working! They have checked for fault codes and it's come up with the G65 Sensor fault.

    Can anyone please confirm that if I fit the part myself the system doesn't need emptying?

    Ive read conflicting advise, someone here said that you don't need to empty the system because of valve or something.

    TIA
    #7
  9. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 2, 2012]
    Well went ahead and replaced the G65 pressure switch... And JAY I have aircon again.
    I can confirm you don't need to drain the system.
    #8
  10. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
    [May 2, 2012]
    Nice work!

    My gut reaction was that you wouldn't lose the refrigerant, but I wasn't 100% sure.
    #9
  11. gkf9
    Offline

    gkf9 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 2, 2012]
    I wasn't sure to, but took the gamble, had visions of my hand freezing up and snapping off. :)
    #10

Share This Page