1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AIRCON NO GAS??

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by AudiiduA, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. AudiiduA

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all, my aircon gas seems to be totally gone! but gone where??? any ideas fellas?:ermm: or can it just run out?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. rossbrownlee

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told that if you don't use the aircon for a while the seals in the air con compressor can dry out causing a leak but I don;t know if that is correct or not.
     
  4. barters3

    barters3 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is true, there is oil within the refrigerant gases which needs to be circulated around the system to lubricate the seals. this is done by running the aircon at least once a month for 10mins or so.

    you will only have no gas in the system if youve got a monster of a leak (like i have!)

    Mine is leaking from a pressure switch which is located behind the rigid heat shield; behind the turbo.

    It has a diaphragm in it which i presume has failed. i found the leak by charging the system with nitrogen, this would obviously would need to be done by a specialist.
    it looks like a right pain to get to, so i will be taking mine to a garage to get it done.

    I dont know if it is a common place to leak but it may be worth mentioning if you take it in somewhere for a repair.
     
  5. barters3

    barters3 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    may be worth posting in the airconditioning section of the forum aswell, good luck with it.
     
  6. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    it is also worth mentioning that if the system is slightly low it will not work, mine only needed 50ml of the gas to be ice cold again, it is true about the oil in the gas and lubricates the system, another point of loss is the service pipe valves. my refrigeration engineer services mine and uses a sniffer around all the joints...and mine was fine.
     
  7. barters3

    barters3 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am guessing you have had somebody put gauges on the car and youve been told there is no gas.

    as s3dave says if just a little is lost then it will go out on low presure and not run.
     
  8. AudiiduA

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers for all the replies fellas! i took off the black cap from the filler pipe and used a pen to poke the little valve and nothing came out!
     
  9. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    121
    My compressor switch has also gone porous. Not a hard job to do, although it looks it. The problem being that the switch is ~£50 from the dealer - which is a lot for what it is IMO.
     
  10. mk1chopper

    mk1chopper Missing the S3

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    11
    My system has a leak, has it regassed and they siad it was empty which they suspect was due to a leak, 2 weeks later its stopped putting cold air, havnt taken it back to be sorted yet but they added the dye so they should be able to located, hoping its not serious.
     
  11. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    What a waste of money, they should have pressure checked it with air to see if it was holding first...then fixed the leak source..
     

Share This Page