1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aircon cuts off

Discussion in 'Air Conditioning' started by maznaz, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. maznaz
    Offline

    maznaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 1,8T and have problem with clima system. Usually it works fine, but in longer jornejs after nonstop driving ~1h or a bit longer, working in Auto mode it cuts off, it cuts off not only cold air but air at all. I switch to Econ for 5-10 minits and it goes back to normal. It seams somekind overheating security? Sallon air filter is changed frequently and it is ok, system is mainteined ones at year so all components have no wisible foults. I even tested it with VAG diagnostic system but it shows no problems. Of course I can not test it in foult moment. Also I found that system generates very much condensate, it seems more than it should be...
    So probably someone are familliar with such problem?
    I live and drive in Latvia so it is not the hottest spot

    thanks
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Not heard of this one to be honest. Does the condensation build up and up until it cuts off?
    #2
  3. maznaz
    Offline

    maznaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regarding condensation build up... it is hard to say when driving 100mph :)
    but first signs of system cut off are when winows buld up sweat very fast
    probably condensate drain system is somehow limited when car is on move? maybe that is the reason of big wather puddle when car stand for a while?
    :think:
    #3
  4. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    It certainly sounds like the 2 are connected mate. You may well be right perhaps the system can't drain off.

    This may be a bit of a difficult question to answer but bear with me.

    When the system is not on auto the fans are manually set to a certain level. Pressing auto will allow the system to control the fan speed to get to the right temperature. Turning auto off again the fans will drop (or rise) back to the level they were at.

    When you say that the fans die when the system cuts out do you mean they stop altogether or do they just drop back as they would if you had pressed the button?
    #4
  5. maznaz
    Offline

    maznaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    usually I use auto mode, when system cuts off, it does not affect indicators in menu anyway, I can rise airflow or switch to another temp all works exept air :) it cuts off completely, helps only 2 things switch off system permamently or turn it to econ after 5-10 minits it goes to normal
    #5
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Let me get this right the digital display doesn't change whatsoever? It still displays the same fan speed and temperature? But the fans do actually stop 100%?
    #6
  7. maznaz
    Offline

    maznaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, exactly
    #7
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ah right, well I don't know then! lol

    Sounds more like a technical fault than an air con fault. BUT it could well be CAUSED by the condensation.

    Do you have an air recirculation button?
    #8
  9. s4marsh
    Offline

    s4marsh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    2
    does the climate have its own diagnostic system accessed by a certain combo of buttons like the s4? recirculate and up on the fan control i think it was?
    #9
  10. maznaz
    Offline

    maznaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes there is recirculation button.
    I tested climate contorl system by dealer on diagnostic sys (it was not on moment when it was cutted out, becouse on short jorneys problem does not come out) and there was not any foult, everything worked perfectly
    #10
  11. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    When you're driving at speeds and the fault happens are you in recirculation mode? Perhaps some fresh air from the outside is needed to prevent the condensation :think:
    #11
  12. PW-Motorsport
    Offline

    PW-Motorsport Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the correct amount of gas in the system?
    #12
  13. maznaz
    Offline

    maznaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    many thanks
    usually I use Auto mode,
    system was filed and checked at spring, will go to my local aircon spec. to check system
    #13

Share This Page