1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aircon Compressor Clutch

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Speedy Steve, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. Speedy Steve

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    16
    Has anyone changed the clutch on the aircon compressor? Ive finally picked up a second hand compressor to swap the clutch out on as mines not worked for ages.

    Any tips guys or will this sit in my garage like the WMI kit ive had in there for 8 months lol
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,257
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    Just swap the compressor?

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    122
    Agreed - that's got to be easier? It's 2 bolts...
     
  5. Speedy Steve

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    16
    but then that means paying for it to be de gassed and then re done
     
  6. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    122
    True....
     
  7. Speedy Steve

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    16
    And im a tight git and need to save money ready for the version 3 xs manifold
     
  8. 666markyboy

    666markyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    38
    probably need regassing anyway if it's not been in use for a long time
     
  9. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,257
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    tbh seeing as yours hasn't run for as long as I have known you its prob in need of a re-gas anyway... I would be tempted to do it that way myself...

    There isn't much room from memory to get to the clutch anyway and no guaranty it will work once you have swapped the clutch over... if the other pump is a known good un I would just swap it and be done tbh... get it re-gassed and enjoy the icy goodness...

    <tuffty/>
     

Share This Page